The Assassination of Brangwain Spurge
  • Published:
    Sep-2018 (Hardcover)
    Apr-2020 (Paperback)
  • Formats:
    Print / Audio
  • Main Genre:
  • Pages:
  • Age Level:
  • Rating:
  • Purchase:
  • Share:
Subverting convention, award-winning creators M. T. Anderson and Eugene Yelchin pair up for an anarchic, outlandish, and deeply political saga of warring elf and goblin kingdoms.

Uptight elfin historian Brangwain Spurge is on a mission: survive being catapulted across the mountains into goblin territory, deliver a priceless peace offering to their mysterious dark lord, and spy on the goblin kingdom -- from which no elf has returned alive in more than a hundred years. Brangwain's host, the goblin archivist Werfel, is delighted to show Brangwain around. They should be the best of friends, but a series of extraordinary double crosses, blunders, and cultural misunderstandings throws these two bumbling scholars into the middle of an international crisis that may spell death for them -- and war for their nations. Witty mixed media illustrations show Brangwain's furtive missives back to the elf kingdom, while Werfel's determinedly unbiased narrative tells an entirely different story. A hilarious and biting social commentary that could only come from the likes of National Book Award winner M. T. Anderson and Newbery Honoree Eugene Yelchin, this tale is rife with thrilling action and visual humor ... and a comic disparity that suggests the ultimate victor in a war is perhaps not who won the battles, but who gets to write the history.
Click on any of the links above to see more books like this one.

Sign in to see more editions
    • Apr-2020
    • Candlewick
    • Trade Paperback
    • ISBN: 1536213098
    • ISBN13: 9781536213096
    • First Edition
    • Sep-2018
    • Candlewick
    • Hardcover
    • ISBN: 0763698229
    • ISBN13: 9780763698225
    • Nov-2018
    • Dreamscape Media, LLC
    • Audible
    • Nov-2018
    • Dreamscape Media
    • Audio CD
    • ISBN: 197493036X
    • ISBN13: 9781974930364
    • Nov-2018
    • Dreamscape Media
    • Audio CD
    • ISBN: 1974930408
    • ISBN13: 9781974930401

View the Complete M.T. Anderson Book List