Scandal and the Duchess

Scandal follows Rose Barclay, young widow of the Duke of Southdown, wherever she goes. It's never her fault -- honor bright -- but newspapers love to write about the simple girl from Scotland and the much older duke, who died suddenly on their honeymoon. And now there is even more talk as the legitimacy of the marriage is being contested by the duke's son and heir.

Steven McBride is a decorated soldier -- and a notorious gambler and womanizer. The last thing he wants is marriage, but due to a series of unfortunate events, he and Rose's names are linked in the papers, threatening the lovely lady with ruin. To save the day, Steven suggests they claim to be engaged. But as desire boils between them, Rose and Steven soon learn the difficulties of maintaining their deception, which might not be a lie after all …

Includes a preview for RULES FOR A PROPER GOVERNESS

Praise for the Mackenzie series

“Skillfully nuanced characterization and an abundance of steamy sensuality.” -- Chicago Tribune

“Heartrending, funny, honest, and true… I want to marry the hero!” -- Eloisa James, New York Times Bestselling Author

“A sexy, passion-filled romance that will keep you reading until dawn.” -- Julianne MacLean, USA Today Bestselling Author

Jennifer Ashley, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author and winner of a Romance Writers of America RITA Award, also writes as Allyson James and Ashley Gardner. She's penned more than fifty-five novels and twenty novellas in historical romance, paranormal romance, and urban fantasy. She now lives in the Southwest with her husband and cats, spends most of her time in the wonderful world of her stories, and also enjoys hiking, music, and building dollhouses and dollhouse miniatures.
Click on any of the links above to see more books like this one.

Sign in to see more editions
    • First Edition
    • Sep-2014
    • Penguin
    • eBook
    • ISBN: 1101615931
    • ISBN13: 9781101615935
    • Sep-2014
    • Tantor Media
    • Audio CD
    • ISBN: 145261654X
    • ISBN13: 9781452616544
    • Sep-2014
    • Tantor Media
    • Audio CD
    • ISBN: 1452646546
    • ISBN13: 9781452646541
    • Sep-2014
    • Tantor Media
    • MP3 CD
    • ISBN: 1452666547
    • ISBN13: 9781452666549

View the Complete Jennifer Ashley Book List