• Published:
  • Formats:
    Print / eBook
  • Main Genre:
    General Fiction
  • Pages:
  • Rating:
  • Purchase:
‘What a wonderful woman. My mother, warm and wise.' Mum, a story about a girl and a boy growing up in poverty in the postwar suburbs, is the third in the saga begun with the much-acclaimed Oracles and Miracles. The saga, which also includes The Shining City and Bangs, portrays five generations of a family and the story of an entire provincial society. Mum begins with Ginnie, now in middle age, holding the newborn daughter of her son Jimmy. Ginnie the happy grandmother. Ginnie the ‘wonderful woman.' She has come a long way from Oracles and Miracles. But if Jimmy recalls the past as a time of peace and happiness, why does his sister Viv remember it as a nightmare? How are they both to resolve the memories which now surge into the present and demand to be resolved? And why is Ginnie herself at the heart of it all? David Eggleton: 'Stevan Eldred-Grigg has established himself through his novels and histories as the province's most significant and gifted society portrait painter.' Heather Murray: 'The marvels of Eldred-Grigg's third novel underline the wisdom of the earlier ones. ... Eldred-Grigg does not put a foot wrong.'
Click on any of the links above to see more books like this one.

Sign in to see more editions
    • First Edition
    • Sep-1995
    • Penguin
    • Paperback
    • ISBN: 0140252444
    • ISBN13: 9780140252446
    • Jun-2015
    • Horsham House
    • Trade Paperback
    • ISBN: 0994110472
    • ISBN13: 9780994110473
    • Dec-2013
    • Smashwords
    • eBook
    • ISBN: 1311188134
    • ISBN13: 9781311188137
    • Nov-2014
    • Horsham House
    • eBook (Kindle)

View the Complete Stevan Eldred-Grigg Book List