Conquest of Gaul
  • Published:
  • Formats:
    Print / eBook / Audio
  • Series:
  • Main Genre:
  • Time Period:
    Ancient Rome
  • Pages:
  • Purchase:
  • Share:
This is the Second Edition of the bestselling Marching With Caesar®-Conquest of Gaul. Marching With Caesar-Conquest of Gaul is a first-person narrative, written in the form of a memoir as dictated to a scribe of Titus Pullus, Legionary, Optio, First Spear Centurion of Caesar's 6th and 10th Legion. The memoir is written three years after his retirement as Camp Prefect, when Titus is 61 years old. Starting with the first volume in the series, Marching With Caesar®-Birth of the 10th Legion Titus, along with his boyhood friend Vibius Domitius, have joined the 10th Legion in the draft of 61 BC, when Gaius Julius Caesar is the governor of Spain. Titus and Vibius endure the harsh training, and participate in their first campaign, the suppression of a rebellion by the Lusitani tribes of Hispania. With this campaign completed, the 10th Legion is marched to Narbo Martius, their new permanent home. Three years after joining the legions, the 10th is called on again, this time to be part of the subjugation of Gaul, one of the greatest feats of arms in any period of history. During the subsequent campaigns, the 10th cements its reputation as Caesar's most favored and trusted legion, and is involved in most of the major actions during this period. This second book of a completed series closes with Caesar crossing the Rubicon, and the 10th preparing to march to war, this time against fellow Romans. Critical praise for Marching With Caesar-Conquest of Gaul: "Fans of Roman historical fiction- or military fiction just in general- shouldn't miss what looks to be one heck of a series." -The Historical Novel Society
Click on any of the links above to see more books like this one.

Sign in to see more editions
    • Jan-2014
    • R.W. Peake
    • Trade Paperback
    • ISBN: 1941226043
    • ISBN13: 9781941226049

View the Complete R.W. Peake Book List