Bingo's Run
  • Published:
    Jan-2014 (Hardcover)
  • Formats:
    Print / eBook / Audio
  • Main Genre:
    Literary
  • Time Period:
    Contemporary
  • Pages:
    304
  • Rating:
  • Purchase:
For fans of Dave Eggers, Teju Cole, and James McBride, comes this extraordinary novel of morality and the redemptive powers of art that offers a glimpse into an African underworld rarely described in fiction.

Meet Bingo, the greatest drug runner in the slums of Kibera, Nairobi, and maybe the world. A teenage grifter, often mistaken for a younger boy, he faithfully serves Wolf, the drug lord of Kibera. Bingo spends his days throwing rocks at Krazi Hari, the prophet of Kibera's garbage mound, “lipping” safari tourists of their cash, and hanging out with his best friend, Slo-George, a taciturn fellow whose girth is a mystery to Bingo in a place where there is never enough food. Bingo earns his keep by running “white” to a host of clients, including Thomas Hunsa, a reclusive artist whose paintings, rooted in African tradition, move him. But when Bingo witnesses a drug-related murder and Wolf sends him to an orphanage for “protection,” Bingo's life changes and he learns that life itself is the “run.”

A modern trickster tale that draws on African folklore, Bingo's Run is a wildly original, often very funny, and always moving story of a boy alone in a corrupt and dangerous world who must depend on his wits and inner resources to survive.
Sub-Genres
Click on any of the links above to see more books like this one.



EDITIONS
Sign in to see more editions
    • First Edition
    • Jan-2014
    • Spiegel & Grau
    • Hardcover
    • ISBN: 1400068835
    • ISBN13: 9781400068838
    •  
    • Jan-2014
    • Spiegel & Grau
    • eBook (Kindle)
    •  
    • Jan-2014
    • Random House
    • eBook
    • ISBN: 1588369471
    • ISBN13: 9781588369475
    •  
    • Jan-2014
    • Blackstone Audiobooks
    • Audio CD
    • ISBN: 1482950448
    • ISBN13: 9781482950441
    •  
    • Jan-2014
    • Blackstone Audiobooks
    • MP3 CD
    • ISBN: 148295043X
    • ISBN13: 9781482950434
    •  
    • Jan-2014
    • Blackstone Audiobooks
    • Audio CD
    • ISBN: 1482950421
    • ISBN13: 9781482950427
    •  
    • Jan-2014
    • Blackstone Audiobooks
    • Playaway
    • ISBN: 1482962934
    • ISBN13: 9781482962932
    • Library Binding
    •  
    • Jan-2014
    • Blackstone Audio, Inc.
    • Audible



View the Complete James A. Levine Book List