Shantymen of Cache Lake
  • Length:
    6 Books
  • First Book:
    January 1975
  • Latest Book:
    January 1999
  • Age Level:
    Middle Grade (Ages 8-12)

Bains Series in Order (6 Books)

Order Book Date Rating
1 0
4 0
5 0
6 0
8 0

Book Descriptions for series: Bains

  • Book - 1

    When John and Meg Bains heard the news of their lumberman father's death, the cold wind shaking their tiny Ottawa cabin grew even colder. If someone didn't soon start bringing in money, they would lose their modest home and find themselves on the tow...

  • Book - 4

    Meg and Jamie Bains spend twelve hours a day sewing shirts in a loud, dim room filled with row after row of poor women and children tending their sewing machines. They're lucky to have the work.

    In the 1870s Canada suffers from a terrible Dep...

  • Book - 5

    John and Meg Bains are impressed by Toronto when they first arrive there in 1875: its long boardwalks, tall hotels, elegant shops and fancy restaurants. Not that they can afford to stay in a hotel or eat in a restaurant.

    Canada is suffering ...

  • Book - 6

    Meg and Jamie Bains are driven away from their Ottawa home by the Depression of the 1870s, riding the rails and looking for work to help feed their family. But with so many grown men and women out of work, nobody wants to hire two kids, no matter how...

  • Book - 8

    "My mother is held as a prisoner by the Sioux," Black Eagle said, looking directly at Jamie. "Will you come with me to rescue her?" So Jamie and Kate Bains are summoned on a dangerous mission to help their friend, Black Eagle. His mother Spotted Bird...

  • Through the winter of 1876-77 Jamie and Kate Bains are storm-staid at Fort Walsh with their friend constable Patrick NcNeil of the North West Mounted Police. Come spring, he invites them to help drive a herd of cattle across the barren plains from Mo...

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

There are 6 books in the Bains series.

The Bains series does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, Sioux Winter (Book 8), was published in January 1999.

The first book in the Bains series, Shantymen of Cache Lake, was published in January 1975.

The Bains series primarily falls into the General Fiction genre. This middle grade series was written for ages 8-12, but can be enjoyed by older readers as well.
No ads, please
$20 / year
  • Go ad-free with a FictionDB premium membership.