Susanna Jones was born in Hull and grew up in Hornsea in East Yorkshire. She studied drama at Royal Holloway University of London and then spent several years abroad, including two years in Turkey and five years in Japan. She taught English in secondary schools, language schools, a steel corporation and worked as an assistant editor and presenter for NHK Radio.

In 1996 she studied for an MA in Novel Writing at the University of Manchester and now lectures in Creative Writing at Royal Holloway, University of London. She lives in Brighton.

Her work has been translated into over twenty languages and has won the CWA John Creasey Dagger, a Betty Trask Award, the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize and was selected for Fiction Uncovered Best British Novels of 2012.

Book List in Order:4 titles

  • A gripping tale of ambition and rivalry, madness and revenge - in the vein of Sarah Waters and Beryl Bainbridge. As Queen Victoria's reign reaches its end, Grace Farringdon dreams of polar explorations and of escape from her stifling home with her p...


  •  Isabel, Owen and Julia were childhood friends. But when they were fifteen, Julia disappeared without a trace—an event that had a devastating impact on the others. Years later, Isabel returns to her home town in the north of England for Owen’s fu...


  • With her slender back held rigid against the wind, a beautiful Japanese girl stands on the deck of the Shanghai ferry and looks down at the churning currents. Hiding near the doorway, an Englishman watches the girl, who looks like she owns the night ...


  • In Jones's haunting debut novel, readers are taken inside the mind of Lucy, who has fled a painful past to work as a translator in Japan. It is there that she begins an affair with a secretive photographer named Teiji. But it is when Lucy and Teiji b...