Author Information
S.A. Chakraborty's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    5 Books (1 Series)
  • First Book:
    November 2017
  • Latest Book:
    March 2023
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:
About the Author

S. A. Chakraborty is a speculative fiction writer from New York City. When not buried in books about Mughal portraiture and Omani history, S. A. enjoys hiking, knitting, and cooking unnecessarily complicated meals for her family. You can find her online at or on Twitter (@SChakrabs) where she likes to ramble about history, politics, and Islamic art.

Full Series List in Order

Daevabad Trilogy

1 - The City of Brass (Nov-2017)
2 - The Kingdom of Copper (Jan-2019)
3 - The Empire of Gold (Jul-2020)

Book List in Order: 5 titles

  • Step into The City of Brass, the spellbinding debut from S. A. Chakraborty -- an imaginative alchemy of The Golem and the Jinni, The Grace of Kings, and One Thousand and One Nights, in which the future of a magical Middle Eastern kingdom rests in the...

  • S. A. Chakraborty continues the sweeping adventure begun in THE CITY OF BRASS -- ”the best adult fantasy I’ve read since The Name of the Wind“ (#1 New York Times bestselling author Sabaa Tahir) -- conjuring a world where djinn summon flames wit...

  • The final chapter in the bestselling, critically acclaimed Daevabad Trilogy, in which a con-woman and an idealistic djinn prince join forces to save a magical kingdom from a devastating civil war. Daevabad has fallen. After a brutal conquest st...

  • Bestselling author S. A. Chakraborty’s acclaimed Daevabad Trilogy gets expanded with this new compilation of stories from before, during, and after the events of The City of Brass, The Kingdom of Copper, and The Empire of Gold, all f...

  • Shannon Chakraborty, the bestselling author of The City of Brass, spins a new trilogy of magic and mayhem on the high seas in this tale of pirates and sorcerers, forbidden artifacts and ancient mysteries, in one woman’s determined quest to seize a ...

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

S.A. Chakraborty has published 5 books.

S.A. Chakraborty does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, The Adventures of Amina al-Sirafi, was published in March 2023.

The first book by S.A. Chakraborty, The City of Brass, was published in November 2017.

Yes. S.A. Chakraborty has 1 series.