Book List:13 titles
  • Ron Carlson is a master of the contemporary short story. In The Blue Box, he extends that mastery to the short short story, offering us a captivating glimpse of a writer at play. With that voice of his—sharp, sensitive, and wry, brimming with good ...


  • From a widely admired author, a poignant novel about homecoming, friendship, growing up, and growing old for fans of Richard Ford and Richard Russo In this finely wrought portrait of western American life, Ron Carlson takes us to the small town o...


  • in Best American Mystery Stories 2009

    Best-selling novelist Jeffery Deaver edits this latest collection of the genre's finest from the past year. Featuring "gritty tales told with panache," this is a "must-read for anybody who cares about crime stories" (Booklist)....


  • A beautifully written and suspenseful tale of love and peril by an award-winning writer Backpacking into the Wind River Mountains on their tenth annual trip, Mack and his wife, Vonnie, find the magnificent woods and stunning mountains of Wyoming f...


  • Award-winning short story writer Ron Carlson delivers a stirring novel about three men confronting their pasts and their purpose Beloved story writer Ron Carlson's first novel in thirty years, Five Skies is the story of three men gathered high in...


  • With the long summer ahead, there will be a lot of living, growing, and changing to come for three boys as they approach the struggles of adolescence, in a coming-of-age tale for young adults. Reprint....


  • In "Blazo" and other equally poignant tales, men and women are challenged when things don't work out as expected. Other stories deal with surprising transformations for a baseball player turned killer-by-accident, for a nineteen-year-old who experien...


  • Welcome to the short stories of Ron Carlson, where strange beach towels turn up in your suburban living room; where the ordinary son of a family of geniuses spins a rollicking tale of happiness and disappointment; and where a desperate ex-con with a ...


  • A dozen stories feature a young man who discovers that Eden is not a permanent residence, a baseball player who accidentally becomes a killer, and a teenager from Phoenix who experiences an unsettling sexual awakening....






  • In his new collection of quirky, bittersweet stories, Carlson observes the men and women of the middle class, people who find themselves settling uneasily into lives they never envisioned for themselves. Carlson uncannily captures the complexity of h...


  • “If you can read this one without getting a lump in your throat, turn yourself in to the nearest mortuary. Your heart has ceased to function. This book is about the innate hunger of the human heart to belong. To be part of a family unit whether or ...



  • “Ron Carlson’s novel is in the coming-of-age tradition, with the contemporary attributes of humor and cool. . . . I liked Larry for his unpretentiousness, his wry, caring angle on experience.” ―New York Times In this tender, comic novel, Larr...