Author Information
Osamu Dazai's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    23 Books
  • First Book:
    January 1968
  • Latest Book:
    February 2025
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:

Book List in Order: 23 titles



  • This powerful novel of a nation in social and moral crisis was first published by New Directions in 1956. Set in the early postwar years, it probes the destructive effects of war and the transition from a feudal Japan to an industrial society. Ozamu ...



  • The Cult Classic That Captures the Stress of Social Alienation… The Japanese novelist Osamu Dazai wrote, better than almost anyone, about the thin line between isolation and belonging." -- Jane Yong Kim, The Atlantic...



  • Twenty autobiographical stories describe with honesty and self-deprecating humour the women, the suicide attempts, the drinking and the struggle against a staid literary establishment of Japan's "enfant terrible"....





  • The novella that first propelled Dazai into the literary elite of post-war Japan. Essentially the start of Dazai's career, Schoolgirl gained notoriety for its ironic and inventive use of language. Now it illuminates the prevalent social structures of...






  • The war is over. Japan is defeated. Together with his country, a young man must rebuild his life. He will begin at a sanatorium, where everyone gets a nickname, surrounded by an interesting ensemble of patients and caregivers....



  • The war is over. Japan is defeated. As his country rebuilds, a young man must fight disease and rebuild his life. He will start at a peculiar sanatorium, where everyone gets a nickname, and where he is surrounded by an odd assortment of patients and ...






  • The Tragedy of Hamlet is the consummate tale of an introspective melancholic struggling to come to terms with the world he lives in; it is no surprise, then, that artists like Goethe and Coleridge have identified with this tortured character over the...




  • Recipient of the 2018 William F. Sibley Memorial Subvention Award for Japanese TranslationA new, definitive translation of the postwar classic known to the west as No Longer Human -- a tortured vision inspiring the likes of Junji Ito and Bungo S...







  • Place: Tsugaru in Aomori Prefecture, Japan Time: Spring 1944As World War II was coming to an end, Osamu Dazai (born Shuji Tsushima) returned to his home in the northern tip of Honshu, Japan on assignment from a publisher to travel and write about the...



  • Early Light gathers three tales by Osamu Dazai, author of the wildly popular No Longer HumanEarly Light offers three very different aspects of Osamu Dazai's genius: the title story relates his misadventures as a drinker and a family man in the terrib...



  • For the first time in English, Osamu Dazai’s hilariously comic and deeply moving prequel to No Longer HumanThe Flowers of Buffoonery opens in a seaside sanitarium where Yozo Oba -- the narrator of No Longer Human at a younger age -- is being kept a...



  • What dark fate awaits beneath the roaring falls? Suwa and her father live alone on the slopes of Horsebare Mountain, eking out the most meager of existences. During the warmer months the beautiful waterfall brings a few sightseers, but when winter co...



  • "I've led a life full of shame. Human beings are a complete mystery to me."This manga version of novelist Osamu Dazai's masterpiece NO LONGER HUMAN -- the #2 bestselling novel of all time in Japan -- tells the story of Yozo Oba, a young man growing u...






  • Bringing together novelist Osamu Dazai’s best autobiographical shorts in a single, slim volume, Self-Portraits shows the legendary writer at his best -- and worst“Art dies the moment it acquires authority.” So said Japan’s quintessential...



  • A classic of Japanese literature, brought to life in English & manga for the first time!This is the first manga edition in English of The Setting Sun, Osamu Dazai's classic novel, often considered his masterpiece.Set in the aftermath of World War...



  • For fans of No Longer Human, Osamu Dazai’s darkly bewitching novel about the small redemptions of being a pathetic, miserable writer.A fictional thirty-something writer named Osamu Dazai has just mailed his publisher a terrible manuscript, fill...



Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Osamu Dazai has published 23 books.

The next book by Osamu Dazai, No One Knows, will be published in February 2025.

The first book by Osamu Dazai, The Setting Sun, was published in January 1968.

No. Osamu Dazai does not write books in series.