Author Information
Neta Lohnes Frazier's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    2 Books
  • First Book:
    January 1959
  • Latest Book:
    August 2006
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:
About the Author

Most of her works were based on Pacific Northwest history, such as ``Stout-Hearted Seven,'' the story of children orphaned when they lost their adoptive parents, missionaries Marcus and Narcissa Whitman, in the Whitman Massacre near what is now Walla Walla.

In 1978, Women in Communications presented Frazier with its first ``Award of Excellence'' for her 50-year career as an author. Of her 14 books for young readers published between 1947 and 1973, four received Junior Literary Guild awards.

Born in Michigan, she moved to Spokane with her family in 1905 and graduated magna cum laude from Whitman College in 1912. While teaching at Waitsburg High School, she met and married another teacher, Earl Frazier. They moved to Spokane in 1920. Earl Frazier died in 1959.

Survivors include two sons, Philip Frazier of Danville, Calif., and Richard Frazier of Cody, Wyo.; one daughter, Lesley Thompson of San Jose, Calif.; five grandchildren; and five great-grandchildren. Frazier, who died June 2, 1990 celebrated her 100th birthday April 18, 1990

Book List in Order: 2 titles

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Neta Lohnes Frazier has published 2 books.

Neta Lohnes Frazier does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, The Stout-Hearted Seven: Orphaned on the Oregon Trail, was published in August 2006.

The first book by Neta Lohnes Frazier, The Magic Ring, was published in January 1959.

No. Neta Lohnes Frazier does not write books in series.