Sword of Ice: and Other Tales of Valdemar
  • Published:
  • Formats:
  • Rating:
  • Pages:
  • Age Level:
    18 & up
  • Purchase:

Mercedes Lackey's very first novel, ARROWS OF THE QUEEN, introduced readers to the magical land of Valdemar. In this ancient realm, beset by war and internal conflicts, justice is dispensed by an elite force--the legendary Heralds. These unusual men and women, "chosen" from all corners of the kingdom by their mysterious horselike Companions, undergo a rigorous training, and follow a rigid code of honor. Bonded for life with their Companions, the Heralds endeavor to keep the peace and, if necessary, defend their country in the name of their monarch.

Now, Mickey Zucker Reichert, Larry Dixon, Tanya Huff, Michelle Sagara and others add their own special chapters to the history of Valdemar. Meet with a Herald-assassin known only to the Queen...learn why in Karse, a question can be deadlier than any sword...and discover how for two lifebonded Heralds justice prevails over honor, in eighteen original stories of valor and magic, including three coauthored by Mercedes Lackey herself.
Sign In to Review This Book


The Complete Mercedes Lackey Book List