Meg Alexander has been writing since childhood. Her first efforts were plays to be performed by her brothers, sister and cousins as family entertainment at Christmas time. She married at nineteen and had a son. During his childhood she concentrated on freelance journalism, writing on crime, psychology, gardening, travel and cookery. At thirty-eight the breakdown of her marriage brought the need to earn more money. For the next twenty years she claims to have ‘lived on her wits’, becoming a representative for a textile firm in the north of England, and a professional cook in exalted circles. Then she moved into administration, as Assistant Director of the British Red Cross Society’s Conference Centre, and later managing a large Hall of Residence for students of King’s College, London.

During this time she gained a BA Degree from the Open University. When Meg retired she moved to Spain, where she wrote a weekly gardening column for an English language newspaper. The Costa Blanca News, and travel and cookery pieces for Inter-express. After eight years the call of grandchildren was too strong and she moved back to England, settling first in Kent and then in East Sussex. She began to write historical fiction, encouraged by winning first prize in a competition run by Writers’ News for the best opening chapter of a historical romance. The judge was a senior editor from Harlequin Mills & Boon Ltd. She asked to see the rest of the book, but even after two re-writes it wasn’t considered suitable for publication. The same thing happened with a second book, but Meg was third-time lucky.

Book List in Order: 14 titles

Multi-Author Series List

The Steepwood Scandal

3) The Reluctant Bride (Jul-2001)
13) Mr. Rushford's Honor (May-2002)