Book List in Order: 23 titles


  • Ratatouille meets Roald Dahl in the funny and fantastical story of a determined mouse on a mission to procure the world's tastiest cheese. From the author of A Boy Called Christmas—coming soon to Netflix!When Nikolas left the only home he had ev...



  • "Between life and death there is a library, and within that library, the shelves go on forever. Every book provides a chance to try another life you could have lived. To see how things would be if you had made other choices... Would you have done...



  • A TRULY WILD ADVENTURE!Twelve-year-old Evie has a talent. She can HEAR what animals are thinking and she can TALK to them with her mind.When Evie goes on a trip to the Amazon rainforest, her powers are put to the test. She makes friends with pink riv...



  • New school. New friends. Same old pixie.'Don't try to be somethingYou really are not.Your one true selfIs the best thing you've got.'In this heartwarming adventure. the Truth Pixie and her human friend go to school, face a bully and learn the importa...



  • WHEN EVIE TALKS TO ANIMALS . . . THEY TALK BACK.Eleven-year-old Evie has a talent: a supertalent. She can HEAR what animals are thinking.She promises to keep it top secret, but then an evil pet-thief strikes.Every animal in town is in danger and only...



  • From number one bestselling author Matt Haig comes a hilarious and heartwarming story, brilliantly illustrated throughout by Chris MouldWherever she is, whatever the day,She only has one kind of thing to say.Just as cats go miaow and cows go moo,The ...



  • From the bestselling author of "A Boy Called Christmas" comes a hilarious and heartwarming holiday tale for fans of Roald Dahl and Charles Dickens’s "A Christmas Carol" that imagines the story of the first child to ever receive a Christmas present....



  • LET THE BATTLE FOR CHRISTMAS BEGINIt isn't always easy, growing up as a human in Elfhelm, even if your adoptive parents are the newly married Father Christmas and Mary Christmas. For one thing, Elf School can be annoying when you have to sing Christm...



  • The first rule is don''t fall in loveTom Hazard has a dangerous secret. He may look like an ordinary 41-year-old, but because of a rare condition, he''s been alive for centuries. From performing with Shakespeare, to exploring the high seas with Capta...







  • Before there was Santa Claus, there was a young boy who believed in the impossible. . . . Lemony Snicket meets Elf in this warmhearted Christmas caper. Eleven-year-old Nikolas -- nicknamed “Christmas” -- has received only one toy in his life:...





  • Matt Haig’s accessible and life-affirming memoir of his struggle with depression, and how his triumph over the illness taught him to live.From the author of How To Stop Time, coming February 2018 from Viking."Destined to become a modern classic." ...



  • “I know that some of you reading this are convinced humans are a myth, but I am here to state that they do actually exist. For those that don’t know, a human is a real bipedal life form of midrange intelligence, living a largely deluded existence...



  • Barney thinks being a cat would be easier than being a twelve-year-old boy. But when his feline fantasy comes true, the fur starts flying in this darkly hilarious and heartwarming tale. Cats have it made. They laze in sun patches, are showered wit...




  • Just about everyone knows a family like the Radleys. Many of us grew up next door to one. They are a modern family, averagely content, averagely dysfunctional, living in a staid and quiet suburban English town. Peter is an overworked doctor whose wif...



  • When Troll-Son runs away from home, he decides to leave the Shadow Forest behind and move in with his idol, Samuel Blink. Samuel isn't thrilled with the idea of hiding a runaway troll, especially one who copies everything he does, even (ugh!) using h...



  • A "chilling, riveting, heartbreaking" (The New York Times Book Review) novel of parental turmoil, from Matt Haig, the author of How to Stop Time. The charm of acclaimed fiction writer Matt Haig's previous novels, The Dead Fathers Club and The Labrado...



  • The story of a family in crisis and the loyal dog that holds them together, from the author of How To Stop Time and Reasons to Stay Alive."Matt Haig has an empathy for the human condition, the light and the dark of it, and he uses the full palette t...







  • From the bestselling author of A Boy Called Christmas, The Girl Who Saved Christmas, Father Christmas and Me and The Truth Pixie.*Winner of the Gold Smarties Prize, the Blue Peter Book Award and shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal*Samuel Blink is the ...



  • FROM THE NUMBER ONE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHORPhilip Noble is an eleven-year-old in crisis. His pub landlord father has died in a road accident, and his mother is succumbing to the greasy charms of her dead husband's brother, Uncle Alan. The rem...



  • A funny and captivating fantasy novel by "a rising young star in the literary galaxy." (Yorkshire Post)When Samuel and Martha are sent to Norway to live with their Aunt Eda after their parents' deaths, they soon learn her most important rule: NEVER-U...



  • An original and fun first novel destined for cult success.Meet the Hunters: Adam, a teacher, his wife Kate, and their teenage children Hal and Charlotte. But it is Prince, the family’s black Labrador, who is the narrator and protagonist of this tal...


Award-Winning Books by Matt Haig

The Midnight Library
2020 Goodreads Choice Award -- Fiction