Mary Lyn Ray




Book List
List Format:

 19 titles

  • General Fiction

    Sep-2018

    Perfect for fans of Margaret Wise Brown and Deborah Underwood's THE QUIET BOOK, THE THANK YOU BOOK explores the many ways of being thankful that can fill a child's day. Timely, wise, and accessible, the poetic text and tender illustrations celebrate ...

    Buy

      Buy

  • General Fiction

    Nov-2015

    It’s time to say goodnight. But what if a dog isn’t sleepy? Intimate and accessible, this young dog story captures how a reluctant pup warms to bedtime in a way that children will recognize immediately--and find as reassuring as their own beds. ...

    Buy

      Buy

  • Literary

    Oct-2015

    For every aspiring young author out there, this story of a lucky author (and, of course, her dog!) offers both answers and inspiration! Ever wonder what it's like to be an author? Does she write in a quiet corner somewhere? Or someplace loud an...

    Buy

      Buy

  • General Fiction

    Sep-2015

    Somewhere a bee Makes a bed in a rose, Because the bee knows Day has come to a close.   Nighttime blankets a little farm. An owl who-hoots. A bear curls up in a log. A mother fox calls her pups home to the den. But animals aren’t the only on...

    Buy

      Buy

  •  

  • General Fiction

    Feb-2015

    A young girl longs to play the violin in this lyrical story that shows it’s never too late to pursue your dream. More than anything, Elva wants a violin -- but her parents say no. So she pretends. When she should be brushing her teeth, Elva rehe...

    Buy

      Buy

  • General Fiction

    May-2014

    In this mesmerizing picture book from the author of the New York Times bestselling Stars, a young ballerina finds dancing inspiration in the natural world. There’s a place I go that’s green and grass, a place I thought that no one knew -- u...

    Buy

      Buy

  • General Fiction

    Jun-2013

    A lovable dog who isn't afraid of anything suddenly finds herself feeling rather unbrave when she hears thunder. Beautifully written, this charming picture book addresses a common fear in an accessible way and introduces readers to a great new puppy ...

    Buy

      Buy

  • General Fiction

    Oct-2011

    A star is how you know it’s almost night. As soon as you see one, there’s another, and another. And the dark that comes doesn’t feel so dark. What if you could have a star? From acclaimed author Mary Lyn Ray and two-time Caldecott Honor w...

    Buy

      Buy

  • General Fiction

    Oct-2008

    When Wilma decides that her garden needs a new beginning, she gathers string, scissors, shovels, sixty-two dozen balsam seedlings, and Parker, her five-year-old neighbor. Year after year, Wilma and Parker nurture their trees, keeping careful count of...

    Buy

      Buy

  •  

  • General Fiction

    Aug-2005

    Buy

      Buy

  • General Fiction

    Apr-2004

    Poetic text and stunning paintings tell the story of a wood thrush that makes the long migration between New England and Central America. At each end of the journey is a boy who watches and waits, protecting the bird's nesting place until it returns....

    Buy

      Buy

  • General Fiction

    Sep-2002

    Buy

      Buy

  • General Fiction

    May-2001

    An ode to muddy hands and feet, brown earth, and new grass Simple text and exuberant illustrations will make children and their grown-up friends want to sink their feet into gooey, gloppy, mucky, magnificent mud....

    Buy

      Buy

  • General Fiction

    Sep-1999

    Buy

      Buy

  •  

  • General Fiction

    Sep-1996

    This is a story about a field and a man who loved it enough to do something to save it from development. “Based on the author’s personal efforts to protect the land, this story broadcasts a deliberate and timely environmental message that, like t...

    Buy

      Buy

  • General Fiction

    Oct-1994

    A lyrical picture book by the author of Alvah and Arvilla celebrates the world of the Shakers, which emphasizes work, devotion, and song, in the story of young Caleb, who hears angels singing and makes the songs into a book....

    Buy

      Buy

  • General Fiction

    Apr-1994

    Full-color paintings illustrate the story of an eighty-year-old woman, living in an orange house between the railroad and Ragged Mountain, who as a girl had loved nothing more than playing her piano. By the author of Pumpkins. ...

    Buy

      Buy

  • General Fiction

    Jan-1994

    Alvah and Arvilla-and all their farm animals-leave New England behind to see the Pacific Ocean for the first time. “The illustrations of the traveling greenhouse, its open windows and skylights bulging with curious animals, are humorously precariou...

    Buy

      Buy

  • General Fiction

    Oct-1993

    Buy

      Buy

  •  

get social with us

Share This Page