Author Information
Lian Hearn's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    15 Books (3 Series)
  • First Book:
    September 2002
  • Latest Book:
    September 2021
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:

Full Series List in Order

Children of the Otori

1 - Orphan Warriors (Sep-2020)
2 - Sibling Assassins (Sep-2020)

Tale of Shikanoko

1 - Emperor of the Eight Islands (May-2016)
2 - Autumn Princess, Dragon Child (Jun-2016)
3 - Lord of the Darkwood (Aug-2016)
4 - The Tengu's Game of Go (Oct-2016)

Tales of the Otori

1 - Across the Nightingale Floor (Sep-2002)
2 - Grass for His Pillow (Aug-2003)
3 - Brilliance of the Moon (Jun-2004)
4 - The Harsh Cry of the Heron (Aug-2006)
5 - Heaven's Net is Wide (Sep-2007)

Book List in Order: 15 titles

  • An international bestseller, Across the Nightingale Floor is the first book in the Tales of the Otori series by Lian Hearn. Don't miss the related series, The Tale of Shikanoko.In his black-walled fortress at Inuyama, the warlord Iida ...

  • Praised for its epic scope and descriptive detail, Across the Nightingale Floor, the first book of the Tales of the Otori, was an international bestseller and critical success, named by the London Times as "the most compelling novel to have been publ...

  • A beautiful, haunting evocation of the medieval Japan of Lian Hearn's imagination, this thrilling follow-up to Grass for His Pillow and Across the Nightingale Floor takes us deeper into the complex loyalties that bind its characters from birth. Fille...

  • A dazzling saga of warfare and sacrifice, passionate revenge, treacherous betrayal, and unconquerable love, The Harsh Cry of the Heron takes the storytelling achievement of Hearn's fantastic medieval Japanese world to startling new heights of drama a...

  • Heaven's Net Is Wide is the new first volume of the now complete Tales of the Otori- prequel to Across the Nightingale Floor, the book that first introduced Hearn's mythical, medieval Japanese world. This is the story of Lord Otori Shigeru-who has pr...

  • From the author of the international best-selling Tales of the Otori comes a new story about the seduction and peril of stories themselves: the power they hold over their tellers and listeners, and the way they can shape both the past and the future....

  • "His Kakuta Hands" was published in the anthology Blackguards: Tales of Assassins, Mercenaries, and Rogues. About this story, author Lian Hearn says, "'His Kikuta Hands' is set in Maruyama, the farthest city to the west in the Three Countries. It...

  • In the opening pages of the action-packed Book One of Lian Hearn's epic Tale of Shikanoko series--all of which will be published in 2016--a future lord is dispossessed of his birthright by a scheming uncle, a mountain sorcerer imbues a mask with the ...

  • Shikanoko has been humbled by failure, and his once clear destiny has become clouded . . . The Autumn Princess and the boy who is the true emperor are fugitives in the forest, alone and unprotected . . . In the mountain sorcerer’s hut a new g...

  • Shikanoko, at what should be a warrior’s hour of greatest triumph, turns his back on those around him, in mourning for a secret love . . . The Spider Tribe, spurned by their guardian, explore the extent of their powers and ruthless ambitions . ....

  • An epic four-volume adventure in mythical medieval Japan: a world of warriors and assassins, demons and spirits In The Tengu’s Game of Go, the final book of Lian Hearn's epic Tale of Shikanoko--all of which will be published in 2016--the rightfu...

  • The Tales of the Otori continue...After the devastating battle of Takahara, the Otori have allied with the Saga clan to defeat the Arai and give their clan any chance of survival. But their fragile alliance is threatened by Lord Saga's descent into p...

  • The Tales of the Otori end here...Arai Sunaomi has grown into a warrior on the verge of his coming-of-age, and powerful figures across the clans want him for adoptions and tactical marriages. But he is unable to forget his ghost lover Utahime, who ha...

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Lian Hearn has published 15 books.

Lian Hearn does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, Blossoms and Shadows, was published in September 2021.

The first book by Lian Hearn, Across the Nightingale Floor, was published in September 2002.

Yes. Lian Hearn has 3 series.