Book List in Order: 8 titles


  • A beautiful book about community and love by National Book Award winner Kathryn Erskine and #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator Alexandra Boiger.ME can be WE. YOU can come, too. In a lyrical text that travels the globe, National Book Award winn...



  • From National Book Award–winning author Kathryn Erskine comes a heartfelt, poignant novel that tackles grief, change, and the struggle to let your voice be heard. Perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt, Erin Entrada Kelly, and Ali Benjamin. Sh...



  • Some might say Julian is sheltered. But he lives large, and his eternal optimism allows him to see infinite possibilities wherever he looks. Despite his optimism, he is anxious about his stressed family falling apart. Even his ability to "uni-sen...



  • The boy is small for his age. And sickly. It doesn't help that his albinism makes his hair so white that those he meets wonder if he's an angel or a devil. Or that bullies call him "badger" for the dirt he puts under his eyes to cut the glare from...



  • Life will never be the same for Red Porter. He's a kid growing up around black car grease, white fence paint, and the backward attitudes of the folks who live in his hometown, Rocky Gap, Virginia. Red's daddy, his idol, has just died, leaving Red ...



  • Mike tries so hard to please his father, but the only language his dad seems to speak is calculus. And for a boy with a math learning disability, nothing could be more difficult. When his dad sends him to live with distant relatives in rural Pennsylv...



  • In Caitlin's world, everything is black and white. Anything in between is confusing. That's the stuff her brother, Devon, always explained. But now Devon is dead, and her father cries a lot. She wants to help her dad -- and herself--- but as a ten-ye...



  • Don't call her Matilda. Her name is Matt. And don't even think about getting close to her. She doesn't need anyone. Can't you tell by looking at her, dressed all in black with a spider painted on her face and her ice-cold stare? But most of all, do n...





Award-Winning Books by Kathryn Erskine

Mockingbird
2010 National Book Award -- Young People's Literature
2011 Pat Conroy Southern Book Prize -- Children's
2011 SIBA Book Award -- Children's