Katharine Gordon was born on 1916 in Aberdeen, Scotland, UK, but she grew up in India, and except for occasional trips to her mother-in-law's home in Kent or her own family in Scotland has spent her life in India, Africa and in Cyprus. She worked as Secretary to E. A. Army Wardens in Nairobi, Kenya, from 1950 to 1951; as Immigration Officer at the Immigration Department in Nairobi from 1954 to 1957; and as Consular Clerk at British Embassy in Khartoum, Sudan, from 1964 to 1969. She married an English RAF pilot retired after World War II and flew as an airline captain, and it was while he was on long trips that she began to write. She wrote many manuscripts, some twenty in all, and finally submitted The Emerald Peacock, based on a true story, for publication in 1978, wich she won the Authors' Club First Novel Award, and in 1979 the Romantic Novel of the Year Award of Special Merit by the Romantic Novelists' Association.

Book List in Order: 8 titles

Complete Series List in Order

The Peacock Saga

1) The Emerald Peacock (May-1978)
2) In the Shadow of the Peacock (Apr-1979)
2) Peacock in Flight (Apr-1979)
3) The Peacock Rider (Mar-1981)
3) The Peacock Ring (Mar-1981)
4) Peacock in Jeopardy (Jan-1983)
5) The Peacock Fan (Mar-1996)

Award-Winning Books by Katharine Gordon (1)

The Emerald Peacock
1979 RoNA -- Award Of Special Merit