Book List in Order: 5 titles


  • Over the course of a weekend, two couples reckon with the long-hidden secrets that have shaped their families, in a charged, poignant novel of motherhood and friendship It’s the end of summer when we meet Sarah, the end of summer and the middle ...



  • For readers of Rules of Civility and The Marriage Plot, Joanna Hershon’s A Dual Inheritance is an engrossing novel of passion, friendship, betrayal, and class -- and their reverberations across generations. Autumn 1962: Ed Cantowitz and Hugh Sh...



  • Berlin, 1865. Eva Frank, the daughter of a benevolent Jewish banker, and her sister, Henriette, are having their portrait painted -- which leads to a secret affair between young Eva and the mercurial artist. This indiscretion has far-reaching consequ...



  • Critics and readers alike hailed Swimming, Joanna Hershon’s fiction debut. “Compelling,” said the Washington Post, while Vanity Fair called Swimming a “page-turning premiere.” Now Hershon brings us her anticipated second novel, in which she...



  • "Two brothers, one girlfriend, one fateful night at a New Hampshire pond where jealousy rages out of control, and suddenly the life of eight-year-old Lila Wheeler is forever changed.... Living in New York a decade later, Lila -- desperate to know wha...