J.M. Coetzee


Book List
List Format:

 20 titles

  • Buy

    Literary

    May-2017

  • Buy

    Literary

    Feb-2017

    “When you travel across the ocean on a boat, all your memories are washed away and you start a completely new life. That is how it is. There is no before. There is no history. The boat docks at the harbour and we climb down the gangplank and we are...

  • Buy

    Literary

    Sep-2013

    Nobel laureate and two-time Booker Prize winner J. M. Coetzee returns with a haunting and surprising novel about childhood and destiny that is sure to rank with his classic novels. Separated from his mother as a passenger on a boat bound for a ne...

  • Buy

    Literary

    Nov-2009

    J.M. Coetzee's latest novel, The Schooldays of Jesus, will soon be available from Viking "Not since Disgrace, has he written with such urgency and feeling." -The New Yorker(on Summertime) Nobel Prize-winning author J. M. Coetzee's new book follows a...

  • Buy

    General Fiction

    Oct-2009

    What's on the minds of African writers? The South African Chapter of PEN International asked the question, and this volume of collected works holds the answer. More than 800 pieces of new writing from across the continent flowed in once the call for...

  • Buy

    General Fiction

    Feb-2009

    The idea of human cruelty to animals so consumes novelist Elizabeth Costello in her later years that she can no longer look another person in the eye: humans, especially meat-eating ones, seem to her to be conspirators in a crime of stupefying magnit...

  • Buy

    Literary

    Jan-2008

    In this brilliant new work of fiction, J. M. Coetzee once again breaks new literary ground with a book that is, in the words of its main character, ?a response to the present in which I find myself.? Diary of a Bad Year takes on the world of politics...

  • Buy

    Literary

    Oct-2005

    J.M. Coetzee's latest novel, The Schooldays of Jesus, will soon be available from Viking J. M. Coetzee, one of the greatest living writers in the English language, has crafted a deeply moving tale of love and mortality in his new book, Slow Man. When...

  • Buy

    Literary

    Dec-2004

    In his acceptance speech for the 2003 Nobel Prize in Literature, J. M. Coetzee delivered an intriguing and enigmatic short story, "He and His Man." The story features Robinson Crusoe, long after his return from the island, reflecting on dea...

  • Buy

    Literary

    Oct-2003

    In his new work of fiction, J. M. Coetzee has crafted an unusual and deeply affecting tale told through an ingenious series of formal addresses. Vividly imagined and masterfully wrought, Elizabeth Costello is, on the surface, the story of a woman's l...

  • Buy

    Literary

    Oct-2003

    J.M. Coetzee's latest novel, The Schooldays of Jesus, will soon be available from Viking The second installment of J. M. Coetzee's fictionalized "memoir" explores a young man's struggle to experience life to its full intensity and transform it into a...

  • Buy

    Literary

    Sep-2002

  • Buy

    Literary

    Apr-2001

    The idea of human cruelty to animals so consumes novelist Elizabeth Costello in her later years that she can no longer look another person in the eye: humans, especially meat-eating ones, seem to her to be conspirators in a crime of stupefying magnit...

  • Buy

    Literary

    Nov-1999

    After years teaching Romantic poetry at the Technical University of Cape Town, David Lurie, middle-aged and twice divorced, has an impulsive affair with a student. The affair sours; he is denounced and summoned before a committee of inquiry. Willing ...

  • Buy

    Literary

    Dec-1994

    In the fall of 1869 Fyodor Mikhailovich Dostoevsky, lately a resident of Germany, is summoned back to St. Petersburg by the sudden death of his stepson, Pavel. Half crazed with grief, stricken by epileptic seizures, and erotically obsessed with his s...

  • Buy

    Literary

    Sep-1990

    In Cape Town, South Africa, an old woman is dying of cancer. A classics professor, Mrs. Curren has been opposed to the lies and brutality of apartheid all her life, but has lived insulated from its true horrors. Now she is suddenly forced to come to ...

  • Buy

    Literary

    Mar-1987

    J.M. Coetzee's latest novel, The Schooldays of Jesus, will soon be available from Viking With the same electrical intensity of language and insight that he brought to Waiting for the Barbarians, J.M. Coetzee reinvents the story of Robinson Crusoe and...

  • Buy

    Literary

    Jun-1985

    "J.M. Coetzee's vision goes to the nerve center of being." Nadine Gordimer J.M. Coetzee's latest novel, The Schooldays of Jesus, will soon be available from Viking A shattering pair of novellas in the tradition of Conrad's Heart of Darkness, Duskland...

  • Buy

    Literary

    Jan-1984

    From author of Waiting for the Barbarians and Nobel Prize winner J.M. Coetzee.His latest novel, The Schooldays of Jesus, will soon be available from Viking. In a South Africa turned by war, Michael K. sets out to take his ailing mother back to her ru...

  • Buy

    Literary

    May-1982

    A modern classic by Nobel Laureate J.M. Coetzee Waiting for the Barbarians centers on the crisis of the conscience of the Magistrate a loyal servant of the Empire working in a tiny frontier town, doing his best to ignore an inevitable war with the "b...

get social with us

Share This Page