Author Information
J. Anderson Coats's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    8 Books
  • First Book:
    April 2012
  • Latest Book:
    September 2024
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:

Book List in Order: 8 titles

  • Cecily's father has ruined her life. He's moving them to occupied Wales, where the king needs good strong Englishmen to keep down the vicious Welshmen. At least Cecily will finally be the lady of the house. Gwenhwyfar knows all about that house. O...

  • High-spirited young Jane is excited to be part of Mr. Mercer’s plan to bring Civil War widows and orphans to Washington Territory -- but life out west isn’t at all what she expected. Washington Territory is just the place for men of broad mind...

  • Princess Academy meets Megan Whalen Turner in this stunning novel about a girl who won’t let anything tame her spirit -- not the government that conquered her people, and definitely not reform school! Malley has led the constables on a merry cha...

  • An eerie, spine-tingling fantasy about a young girl who discovers two otherworldly children -- and an ancient bargain that threatens to destroy them all. It is the autumn of 1160, and twelve-year-old Agnes is helping with the harvest when she hear...

  • This rich literary novel follows Elen, who must live a precarious lie in order to survive among the medieval Welsh warband that killed her family. Wales, 1109. Three years ago, a warband raided Elen’s home. Her baby sister could not escape the flam...

  • The Black Stallion meets Tamora Pierce in this adventure-filled middle grade novel about a young stable girl who discovers a secret that endangers her beloved horse and threatens her future.Sonnia loves horses more than anything. She works at her fam...

  • Perfect for fans of The Beatryce Prophecy and Catherine, Called Birdy, this “spirited” (Booklist) historical middle grade coming-of-age story set in medieval times follows a strong-minded girl determined to prove she’s just as good a candlemake...

  • In this twisting, page-turning read, shipwrecked teen girls from opposing sides of a long war must find common ground in order to survive. When the Burying Ground goes down in neutral waters, it sends the delegations from two warring nations -- and t...

Award-Winning Books by J. Anderson Coats

The Wicked and the Just
2013 Washington State Book Award -- Young Adults

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

J. Anderson Coats has published 8 books.

The next book by J. Anderson Coats, The Loss of the Burying Ground, will be published in September 2024.

The first book by J. Anderson Coats, The Wicked and the Just, was published in April 2012.

No. J. Anderson Coats does not write books in series.