Dorothy Phoebe Ansle was bron 27 July 1890 in Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England, UK, daugther of the second marriage formed by Mary Phillipps (née Embling), who ran a boardinghouse, and Frederick Philip Ansle (1897-1938), who had various profesions, like butcher and wine merchant. She was the younger child in common. She was a pupil at Royal Masonic School for Girls, and went on to some further education at Caversham. She married Irish Francis Ignatius Keogh, and they lived in Dublin before they instaled in London on 1927.

On 1928, she published her first novel, under the penname of Hebe Elsna, she also wrote under the pennames Vicky Lancaster, Lyndon Snow, and Laura Conway. She published more than 200 novels, mainly romance and dramatic novels or novelized historical biographies, under diferent pseudonyms and titles. She later lived in Surrey and then Hove. Her husband died in 1965. She continued to live in the Hove area till her own death on 7 January 1983.

Book List in Order: 98 titles

Complete Series List in Order


1) The Brimming Cup (Jan-1965)
2) The Pursuit of Pleasure (Jan-1969)

Lord Melbourne

1) The Love Match (Jan-1956)
2) Mrs. Melbourne (Jan-1958)


1) A House Called Pleasance (Jan-1963)
2) Too Well Beloved (Jan-1964)
3) The Undying Past (Jan-1964)