Book List in Order:46 titles

  • The perfect classic crime story to cosy up with this festive season. Amateur sleuth Mrs Bradley investigates a puzzling Christmas mystery . . . First published in 1936 as Dead Men's Morris. ...


  • This classic crime treat is the perfect Christmas gift for fans of Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers and Ngaio Marsh. First published in 1950 as Groaning Spinney.'A delight... An amateur sleuth to rival Miss Marple' GuardianMrs Bradley, sharp-eyed d...


  • Young schoolmaster-turned-author Colin Palgrave seeks inspiration for his second novel among the dunes and beaches of Saltacres, where he plans to spend his holiday. He encounters one rather forthright character straight away, and that in the form of...


    • / General Fiction
    • Buy Buy


  • Trouble starts in the quiet coastal village of Abbots Crozier when Bryony and Morpeth, the eccentric Rant sisters of Crozier Lodge, decide to breed Pharaoh hounds, the oldest domesticated dogs in the world.The sisters reluctantly take on a kennel-mai...


    • / General Fiction
    • Buy Buy

    The headmaster of the Sir George Etherege school for boys becomes understandably concerned when one of his senior staff, a geography teacher named Mr. Pythias, does not appear at school following a weekend break. In the days leading up to Christmas v...


  • Comrie Melrose, in his business life an easy-tempered literary agent, has planned a holiday that will double as a compatibility test: he will traverse the highlands of Scotland with his fiancee, the striking beauty Hera, to ensure that the couple can...


  • It deals with witchcraft (three witches - Dame Beatrice Lestrange Bradley, the Chaucerian Aunt Eglantine, and the mysterious Gloria Mundy, half her hair red, the other half black, her ancestor burnt as a witch). Gloria Mundy arrives unannounced at th...








  • The tenants of Weston Pipers are horrified to discover that one among them, the reclusive Miss Minnie, has been elaborately and violently murdered, and that their young landlord, Chelion Piper, is the chief suspect. Piper is advised to write down h...


  • Originally published in 1977 and now reissued, a crime novel about the disappearance of two motorcoach drivers which is investigated by Dame Beatrice Lestrange, who uncovers a racket involving stolen antiques, smuggling and murder. From the author of...


  • As Laura goes through the mail in "Winking At The Brim", she finds a letter addressed to Sally Lastrange, Dame Beatrice's young niece who is visiting and who is looking for more permanent living conditions. The letter is an invitation for Sally to a...


  • In the small Oxfordshire village where Ken and Meg Clifton spend their school holidays, the Fair is the most exciting thing that ever happens - that is, until a double murder is committed. The general opinion is that the village contains a homicidal ...


  • This marvellous book collects together the short stories Gladys Mitchell wrote over the years (1936 to 1956) for the London Evening Standard. Eight of the thirty-one stories feature the formidable Mrs Bradley, the rest are a mixture of crime stories ...


  • Hamish Gavin has accepted a teaching position at a unique institution, Joynings, where almost all of the students—and most of the faculty—have dark deeds and secrets in their past that led them there. Equal parts safe house, college, and minimum ...


  • Fenella, great-niece to the unorthodox psychoanalyst and sleuth Mrs. Bradley, unwittingly stumbles upon a pagan ritual in the sleepy village of Seven Wells. When the village's pub landlord disappears, Fenella calls on her great aunt's expert advice t...


    • / General Fiction
    • Buy Buy

    Rosamund Lestrange's behaviour is decidedly strange - but is she really an unhinged wife, or is she an innocent and sane girl at the centre of a conspiracy wrought by her guardian? Dame Beatrice Bradley is called to apply her psychiatric skills to th...



  • Mrs. Beatrice Lestrange Bradley, a renowned psychoanalyst and detective, has a penchant for making the most unusual acquaintances in the most unlikely places. While attending a conference in Holland, Mrs. Bradley meets the lively Binnie Colwyn-Welch....


  • Dame Beatrice Lestrange Bradley investigates when after reporting a body in his tent, Tom Richardson is charged with two murders....


  • Two leading characters in this detective novel are Phlox and Marigold Carmichael, a pair of dilettante Bohemians who wish to find a Romano-British treasure trove. While digging in Hampshire, they unearth a skeleton which they show as a Romano-British...



  • Renowned criminologist, psychoanalyst and sardonic widow Mrs Bradley is enjoying a relaxing holiday on the beautiful island of Hombres Muertos. Then a cave high up in the mountains, containing the mummified bodies of twenty three dead kings, acquires...


  • One of Sir Bohun Chantrey's great passions in life is the stories of Sherlock Holmes. To celebrate the great man's anniversary, he throws a party at which the guests are instructed to come as characters from the detective stories. But several of the ...



  • There's more than a hint of witchcraft in this Mrs. Bradley mystery from the 1950s. ...


  • Most people overlooked the sullen deaf-mute teenager Francis Caux…until he led police to the scene of a murder. It was psychoanalyst and detective Mrs. Beatrice Lestrange Bradley who found a clever way to communicate with Francis, thus learning tha...


  • George Jeffries is attempting to guide a coach party of eccentrics around Scotland via the treacheous mountain known as The Devil's Elbow. But when one of the touring party is found dead, suspicion falls on the hapless Jeffries. His fiancee goes in t...






  • The matchless detective and psychoanalyst Mrs Bradley is visiting the picturesque village of Spey in search of a local witch when Gerald Conway, a junior master at Spey College, is found murdered. Despised by both pupils and peers, there is no shor...



  • When former banana-grower Edris Tidson hears of the possible sighting of a water-naiad he insists that his wife, her aunt Prissie and Prissie's young ward Connie, travel with him to Winchester in search of the nymph. As tensions rise between Connie a...



  • Mrs. Bradley is not unaccustomed to receiving fan mail, but the anonymous letter that she opens one morning at breakfast has not been sent by a well-wisher. The letter evokes memories for Mrs. Bradley of a past criminal investigation, in which she ha...


  • The witchlike psychologist and detective Mrs Bradley takes up the position of warden at a girl's college in order to investigate the ominous disappearance of her predecessor. Her arrival coincides with a series of sinister practical jokes - a student...


  • Mrs. Bradley has dealt with murderers before, but she has always dealt with them as a professional psychologist--coolly, scientifically, almost flippantly. Now, however, the brilliant old lady is fiercely determined to bring a cruel and ruthless murd...



  • When an eccentric Brit proposes a Fearful rag to stir up the Mysteries at Eleusis by receating the ceremony on the original site in Greece, he stirs up something else, something very deadly, and it's up to Dame Bradley to figure out whodunit. First p...


  • A ghost watch in rural Oxfordshire turns deadly for Mrs. Bradley. When Mrs. Bradley arrives at her nephew Carey Lestrange's Oxfordshire pig farm for the Christmas holidays, little does she expect to be caught up in a series of murders and attempted m...


  • The quaint, cozy village of Saxon Wall is hiding a dark, sinister reality. When fiction author Hannibal Jones retires to Saxon Wall in hopes of reinvigorating his writing career, he instead finds himself in the midst of an increasingly puzzling and d...


  • Mrs. Beatrice Lestrange Bradley is asked by the headmaster of a progressive private school to pose as a faculty member in order to determine if the death of an instructor was murder or suicide. First published in 1934 (it was titled Death in the Wet ...


  • When the vicar’s wife discovers that her unmarried housemaid is pregnant, sometime detective and full-time Freudian, Mrs. Bradley, undertakes an unnervingly unorthodox investigation into the mysterious pregnancy....


  • 90-year-old Great Aunt Puddequet devises a novel means to determine which of her young nephews is to inherit her estate--her fortune goes to the one who best performs on her homemade olympic field. When the javelin turns up with blood on its point, i...


  • At the country manor house of Chaynings, the assembled guests--led by their blustery host, Alastair Bing--are ready to dine. The table boasts a respected scientist named Carstairs and an observant old psychoanalyst by the name of Bradley, but one cha...


  • In her second case, Mrs. Bradley finds herself tracking down a traveling skull, has an arrow shot at her, and locates a body, neatly butchered and hunp up to cure, at the local butcher's shop. A Golden Age British detective novel first published in 1...