Book List in Order: 26 titles


  • Pandemic lockdowns have Ruth Galloway feeling isolated from everyone but a new neighbor—until Nelson comes calling, investigating a decades-long string of murder-suicides that’s looming ever closer....



  • The Brighton police force is on the hunt for another killer, but this time they have some competition—a newly formed all-women’s private eye firm, led by none other than the police chief’s wife. Newly minted PI Emma Holmes and her p...




  • A USA Today Bestseller There’s nothing Ruth Galloway hates more than amateur archaeologists, but when a group of them stumble upon Bronze Age artifacts alongside a dead body, she finds herself thrust into their midst—and into the crossh...



  • "This droll romp is a latter-day Miss Marple.” —Washington PostMurder leaps off the page when crime novelists begin to turn up dead in this intricate new novel by internationally best-selling author Elly Griffiths, a literary my...



  • Forensic archaeologist Ruth Galloway changed her life -- until a convicted killer tells her that four of his victims were never found, drawing her back to the place she left behind. Everything has changed for Ruth Galloway. She has a new job, home...



  • Justice Jones, super-smart super-sleuth, is back for her second spine-tingling adventure! For fans of Robin Stevens, Katherine Woodfine and Enid Blyton.When Justice returns for spring term at Highbury House, it''s not long before murder is back on he...



  • The fifth book in the Magic Men series, Now You See Them is a wild mystery with detective Edgar Stephens and the magician Max Mephisto, as they investigate a string of presumed kidnappings in the swinging 1960s. The new decade is going well for Ed...



  • Missing maids, suspicious teachers and a snow storm to die for... For a fearless girl called Justice Jones, super-smart super-sleuth, it''s just the start of a spine-tingling first term at Highbury House Boarding School for the Daughters of Gentlefol...







  • In a chilling entry to the award-winning Ruth Galloway series, she and DCI Nelson are haunted by a ghost from their past, just as their future lands on shaky ground. DCI Nelson has been receiving threatening letters. They are anonymous, yet remini...



  • Death lies between the lines when the events of a dark story start coming true in this haunting modern gothic mystery, perfect for fans of Magpie Murders and The Lake House. Clare Cassidy is no stranger to murder. A high school English teacher s...



  • In a nail-biting hunt for a missing loved one, DI Edgar Stephens and the magician Max Mephisto discover once again that the line between art, life, and death is all too easily blurred. It’s the holiday season and Max Mephisto and his daughter Ru...



  • In this highly atmospheric mystery, Ruth Galloway and DCI Nelson investigate a murder in a medieval Italian town where dark secrets are buried as deep as bones. It’s not every day that you’re summoned to the Italian countryside on business, so...



  • In the third Magic Men mystery, the first partially set in America, a threat of mass violence looms over Elizabeth II’s coronation: Can DI Edgar Stephens and Max Mephisto crack the case and save the crown? Elizabeth II’s coronation is looming,...



  • "In the ninth Ruth Galloway mystery, Ruth and Nelson investigate a string of murders and disappearances deep within the abandoned tunnels hidden far beneath the streets of Norwich. Norwich is riddled with old chalk-mining tunnels, but no one''s sure ...



  • DI Edgar Stephens and the magician Max Mephisto hunt for a killer after two children are murdered in a tragic tableau of a very grim fairy tale. It’s Christmastime in Brighton, and the city is abuzz about a local production of Aladdin, starring...



  • In the next Ruth Galloway mystery, a vision of the Virgin Mary foreshadows a string of cold-blooded murders, revealing a dark current of religious fanaticism in an old medieval town. Known as England’s Nazareth, the medieval town of Little Walsi...



  • Brighton, 1950. A girl is found cut into three pieces. Detective Inspector Edgar Stephens is convinced the killer is mimicking a famous magic trick the Zig Zag Girl. The inventor of the trick, Max Mephisto, is an old war friend of Edgar's. They serve...



  • It’s a blazing hot summer in Norfolk when a construction crew unearths a downed American fighter plane from World War II with a body inside. Forensic archeologist Ruth Galloway determines that the skeleton couldn’t possibly be the pilot, and DNA ...







  • The service of the Outcast Dead is held annually in Norwich commemorating the bodies in the paupers' graves. This year's proceedings hold special interest for forensic archaeologist Ruth Galloway, who has just unearthed the notorious Mother Hook, han...



  • When Ruth Galloway arrives to supervise the opening of a coffin containing the bones of a medieval bishop, she finds the museum’s curator lying dead on the floor. Soon after, the museum’s wealthy owner is also found dead, in his stables. These...



  • Ruth Galloway is shocked when she learns that her old university friend Dan Golding has died tragically in a house fire. But the death takes on a sinister cast when Ruth receives a letter from Dan written just before he died. The letter tells of a...



  • A spirited stocking stuffer for fans craving a taste of Ruth Galloway in their holiday season. It is three days before Christmas and a bitter wind is blowing across Norfolk.   Until her daughter was born, forensic archaeologist Ruth Galloway didn...



  • Forensic archeologist Dr. Ruth Galloway is back, this time investigating a gruesome World War II war crime. Elly Griffiths's Ruth Galloway novels have been praised as "highly atmospheric" (New York Times Book Review), "remarkable" (Richmond Times-...



  • It’s only been a few months since forensic archeologist Ruth Galloway found herself entangled in a missing-child case, barely escaping with her life. But when constructions workers demolishing a large old mansion to make way for a new development u...



  • The first entry in the acclaimed Ruth Galloway series follows the "captivating"* archaeologist as she investigates a child's bones found on a nearby beach, thought to be the remains of a little girl who went missing ten years before.Forensic archeolo...


Complete Series List in Order

A Magic Men Mystery

1) The Zig Zag Girl (Sep-2015)
2) Smoke and Mirrors (Oct-2016)
3) The Blood Card (Sep-2017)
4) The Vanishing Box (Oct-2018)
5) Now You See Them (Dec-2019)
6) The Midnight Hour (Nov-2021)

A Ruth Galloway Novel

1) The Crossing Places (May-2009)
2) The Janus Stone (Jan-2011)
3) The House at Sea's End (Jan-2012)
3.5) Ruth's First Christmas Tree (Dec-2012)
4) A Dying Fall (Mar-2013)
5) A Room Full of Bones (May-2013)
6) The Outcast Dead (Mar-2014)
7) The Ghost Fields (May-2015)
8) The Woman in Blue (May-2016)
9) The Chalk Pit (Feb-2017)
10) The Dark Angel (May-2018)
11) The Stone Circle (May-2019)
12) The Lantern Men (Jul-2020)
13) The Night Hawks (Feb-2021)

Award-Winning Books by Elly Griffiths

The Crossing Places
2011 Edgar Allan Poe Award -- Mary Higgins Clark Award
The Stranger Diaries
2020 Edgar Allan Poe Award -- Novel