Book List in Order: 20 titles


  • Little Freddie Whitemouse, of No.16, Skirting Board West, simply hates being a mouse. Mice are terribly small, frightened of everything, and aren't allowed to have any fun at all. Instead, he longs to be a fierce tiger, king of the jungle floor; or s...



  • From Book 1: This “dazzling” novel follows a family of English aristocrats as their country teeters on the brink of World War II (Penelope Fitzgerald).  As war clouds gather on the distant horizon, Hugh, Edward, and Rupert Cazalet, along wit...



  • A short story anthology of thrills, chills, and the impulses and longings that drive us, from the bestselling author of the Cazalet Chronicles.   In this dazzling collection, author Elizabeth Jane Howard mines the rich terrain of the heart with her ...



  • The author of the bestselling Cazalet Chronicles brilliantly captures the coming-of-age hopes and yearnings of an adolescent English girl during World War I   The fourth child born to a struggling musician and a mother who’s an incurable romantic,...



  • A young Englishwoman—akin to a Jane Austen heroine—transforms the lives of a couple who has suffered tragic loss in this story of love and redemption   Fourteen years after her death, the ghost of their baby daughter, Sarah, haunts world-famous ...



  • An unforgettable novel about love, family, life, and death in 1960s England   Col. Herbert Brown-Lacy’s daughter, Alice, is getting married—more to escape her father than anything else. Though in truth Alice’s stepmother May has been nicer tha...



  • Penelope Wilton narrates BBC Radio 4's epic dramatization of the treasured family saga Elizabeth Jane Howard's five-book chronicle of the upper-middle class Cazalet family begins in 1938, as siblings Hugh, Edward, Ruper, and Rachel join together f...



  • Written twenty years after the publication of Casting Off , the final volume of the Cazalet Chronicles begins in 1956 when the death of the family matriarch brings the scattered members of the extended clan back together The death of eighty-nine...








  • A beautiful, very moving, melancholic and elegiac novel set in the late 1960s in Melton, a small town in the West Country. The story revolves around a disparate group of people who come together there to establish an arts festival. There is Jack Curt...



  • The long-awaited final volume of Howard's superb quartet of novels that chronicles the lives of an extended family. With the excitement of VE Day come and gone, England remains locked in the drab grip of deprivation. Against this backdrop of a crumbl...



  • The first novel of the Cazalet Chronicle, this masterpiece in the tradition of Upstairs, Downstairs takes us to the Cazalet household in 1930s England, when the coming war is only a distant cloud on the horizon. Elizabeth Howard paints an irresistibl...



  • In the wake of her mother's death, Polly moves to London and becomes involved in a love triangle with her cousin and a family friend, while teenage Louise suffers an ill-fated pregnancy and Zoe+a5 begins an affair. Reprint. PW. ...



  • As England braces for war, Clary Cazalet withdraws into her books and journals, sweet-tempered Polly Cazalet agonizes over a secret illness in the family, and Louise Cazalet returns to boarding school...



  • A novel about a 31-year-old shy and late developer, a virgin who begins to develop very rapidly when he is caught between two women at a penthouse party. From the author of SOMETHING IN DISGUISE and ODD GIRL OUT....



  • It is twenty years since Julius died, but his last heroic action still affects the lives of the people he left behind. Emma, his youngest daughter, twenty-seven years old afraid of men. Cressida, her sister, a war widow, blindly searching for love in...



  • From the bestselling author of The Light Years and Marking Time comes a revealing portrait of a marriage.Moving backward in time from 1950 to 1926, The Long View presents an unusually revealing portrait on a marriage. It traces the lives of Antonia a...



  • MR. WRONG, the title story, is a chilling tale of murder and suspense worthy of Hitchcock at his finest. The heroine is a young woman of means, yet alone in vast and impersonal London she is easy prey for a satanic stalker with almost superhuman powe...



    • / General Fiction
    • Buy Buy

    Anne and Edmund Cornhill lead an idyllic existence at their lovely home not far from London. Happily married for ten years, they enjoy a maximum of domestic satisfaction, retooling a healthy erotic life and a mutual respect for one another's autonomy...







    • / General Fiction
    • Buy Buy

    The long-awaited new novel from the bestselling author of The Cazalet Chronicle, now in paperback. Harry Kent is a sensitive man in late middle age, a reader and a thinker, without means perhaps but not without charm. Daisy has recovered from her unh...


Complete Series List in Order

The Cazalet Chronicles

1) The Light Years (Jul-1995)
2) Marking Time (Aug-1992)
3) Confusion (Apr-1994)
4) Casting Off (Aug-1996)
5) All Change (Nov-2013)