Book List:5 titles
  • For readers of True Grit, The Sisters Brothers, and Winter's Bone, a young girl's odyssey to avenge her mother's death by tracking and killing the panther that claimed her life. In 1860s Texas hill country, in the midst of the Civil War, young Sam...


  • In this gripping, emotionally charged novel, a tragedy in Texas changes the course of three lives On an oppressively hot Monday in August of 1966, a student and former marine named Charles Whitman hauled a footlocker of guns to the top of the Univ...


  • A MESMERIZING NOVEL ABOUT FOUR. GENERATIONS OF WOMEN BOUND TO A MYTHICAL LEGACY IN THE AMERICAN SOUTHWEST Meg Mabry has always felt oppressed by her family's legendary, past. In the 1890s her great-grandmother Hannah Bass wrote starkly revealing dia...


  • While Dr. Hugh Kenner and his sons, Miles and Toby, members of a militia of farmers and fortune seekers under Sam Houston, prepare to fight Santa Anna's army, they are unaware that their beloved home has been destroyed...


  • A fictionalized portrait of Sam Houston and his wife, the proud and magnificent Eliza, follows Eliza as she leaves Houston after only eleven weeks of marriage, creating a scandal that forces Houston to resign the governorship in disgrace...