Book List in Order: 9 titles


  • Jing-nan, owner of a popular night market food stall, is framed for a string of high-profile murders—why does it seem like he's always the one left holding the skewer? The fourth entry to Ed Lin's Taipei mystery series is as hilarious and poign...



  • “You’re not allowed to have a girlfriend until college,” my mother warned. “And you’d better get into an Ivy League school!”David Tung Can’t Get a Girlfriend until He Gets into an Ivy League College is the first official young adult nov...



  • In Taipei, Taiwan, the kidnapping of a Mainlander billionaire throws national media into a tizzy -- not least because of the famous victim’s vitriolic anti-immigration politics. Jing-nan has known Peggy Lee, a bullying frenemy who runs her fami...



  • Family secrets come to light in this dark, comedic crime caper set in Taipei during the annual Mid-Autumn Festival.  In Taiwan, the Mid-Autumn Festival is a time for prioritizing family. When 25-year-old Jing-nan’s gangster uncle, Big Eye, asks...



  • Welcome to Unknown Pleasures, a food stand in Taipei's night market named after a Joy Division album, and also the location for a big-hearted new mystery set in the often undocumented Taiwan. August is Ghost Month in Taiwan -- a time to pay respec...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy

    It's the fall of 1976. New York's Chinatown is in turmoil over news that Mao's daughter is seeking asylum in the U.S. The series hero Robert Chow is a neighborhood detective in training, and he is thrilled when his girlfriend Lonnie scores an interv...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy

    An epic of New York Chinatown noir in the vein of George Pelecanos and Richard Price, this is the riveting sequel to the highly acclaimedThis Is a Bust It's a hot summer in New York's Chinatown in 1976 and Robert Chow, the Chinese-American detect...



  • Fiction. Asian American Studies. THIS IS A BUST, the second novel by award-winning author Ed Lin, turns the conventions of hard-boiled pulp stories on their head by exploring the unexotic and very real complexities of New York City's Chinatown, circa...



  • Waylaid is the story of a Chinese American boy who struggles to grow up in the grip of an overcharged sexual environment. With a daily routine that involves renting out rooms to johns and hookers at his parents' sleazy hotel, the narrator loses his g...






Complete Series List in Order

Robert Chow

1) Snakes Can't Run (Apr-2010)
2) One Red Bastard (Apr-2012)

A Taipei Night Market Novel

1) Ghost Month (Jul-2014)
2) Incensed (Oct-2016)
3) 99 Ways to Die (Oct-2018)
4) Death Doesn't Forget (Jul-2022)