Book List in Order:29 titles

  • Revel in the breathtaking strangeness of We Became Jaguars, a transformative picture book from Dave Eggers.When Grandma comes to visit and a young boy''s parents leave, the rules of the house-and the world-change: They transform into jaguars! Readers...


  • A savage satire of the United States in the throes of insanity, this blisteringly funny novel tells the story of a noble ship, the Glory, and the loud, clownish, and foul Captain who steers it to the brink of disaster. When the decorated Captain o...


  • A tiger carries a dining room chair on her back. But why? Where is she going? With just one word per page, in lush, color-rich landscapes, we learn about the features that make up our world: an archipelago, a dune, an isthmus, a lagoon. Across them a...


  • Abner and Ian are stuck sideways in this clever picture book created by a bestselling, acclaimed author and cartoonist--and perfect for fans of Elephant & Piggie and Press Here. Abner and Ian are stuck sideways on the pages of their debut picture ...


  • From the best-selling author of The Monk of Mokha, a spare, powerful story of two men, Western contractors sent to work far from home, tasked with paving a road to the capital in a dangerous and largely lawless country. Four and Five are partners,...


  • Told in rhyme, a little boy, tucked into his bed, thinks of all the wonderful and ordinary things he will see and do tomorrow. ...


  • Dutch is a horse. A small horse, but a horse nonetheless. Even when, one day, someone has the wise idea to strap a horn to her head and call her a unicorn.Even with all the photo shoots and birthday parties and children on her back, even with all the...


  • Is this era of unprecedented, low-level distrust―in our tech companies and our peers, our democracy and our justice system―we never know who's watching us, what they know, and how they'll use it.Our personal data must be protected against Equifax...


  • A citizen can pick up litter A citizen can pull a weed A citizen can help that critter A citizen can plant a seed A citizen can aid a neighbor A citizen can join a cause A citizen can write a letter A citizen can help change laws... Empo...






  • Discover an underground world full of tunnels and mystery in this middle grade adventure What if nothing was as it seemed? What if the ground beneath your feet was not made of solid earth and stone but had been hollowed into hundreds of tunnels an...


  • In this delightfully original take on nonfiction, bestselling author Dave Eggers tackles one of the most famous architectural and natural monuments in the world: the Golden Gate Bridge. Cut-paper illustrations by Tucker Nichols ensures that this book...


  • A captivating, often hilarious novel of family and wilderness from the bestselling author of The Circle, this is a powerful examination of our contemporary life and a rousing story of adventure. Josie and her children’s father have split up, sh...


  • A Vintage Shorts “Short Story Month” Selection   Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award finalist Dave Eggers displays his emotional range in this quiet tour-de-force from How We Are Hungry, the often funny and masterful collection of short ficti...


  • rom Dave Eggers, best-selling author of The Circle, a tour de force of dialogue and dark humor, coursing emotions and tight control. Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever? is the formally daring, brilliantly executed s...


  • To commemorate the fifteenth anniversary of the journal called “a key barometer of the literary climate” by The New York Times and twice honored with a National Magazine Award for fiction, here is The Best of McSweeney’s—a comprehensive collect...


  • This is what happens when the insanely original and hilarious stories of elementary-school students are paired with the equally anarchic drawings of a novelist/erstwhile artist. In Where Is It Coming From? author Dave Eggers illustrates brash new sto...


  • When Mae Holland is hired to work for the Circle, the world’s most powerful internet company, she feels she’s been given the opportunity of a lifetime. The Circle, run out of a sprawling California campus, links users’ personal emails, social m...


  • In a rising Saudi Arabian city, far from weary, recession-scarred America, a struggling businessman pursues a last-ditch attempt to stave off foreclosure, pay his daughter’s college tuition, and finally do something great. In A Hologram for the Ki...


  • Abdulrahman and Kathy Zeitoun run a house-painting business in New Orleans. In August of 2005, as Hurricane Katrina approaches, Kathy evacuates with their four young children, leaving Zeitoun to watch over the business. In the days following the stor...


  • Max is a rambunctious eight-year-old whose world is changing around him: His father is absent, his mother is increasingly distracted, and his teenage sister has outgrown  him. Sad and angry, Max dons his wolf suit and makes terrible, ruinous mischie...


  • Featuring new work by Wells Tower, Michael Cera, and Etgar Keret, along with as always a bevy of lesser-known but nonetheless excellent writers investigating everything from mental hospitals to sentient mists, and possibly some kind of poster, Issue ...


  • In a sprawling and epic novel, Dave Eggers illuminates the history of the civil war in Sudan through the eyes of a young boy, Valentino Achak Deng. What is the What tells the story of Valentino and another boy, both caught in the Sudanese civil war. ...


  • “These tales reinvigorate…the short story with a jittery sense of adventure.”  —San Francisco Chronicle Dave Eggers—Pulitzer Prize finalist for A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius and author of What Is the What and The Circle, among ...


  • Issue 14 features a return of the hard-hitting journalism that has made McSweeney's our nation's preeminent source of Whys and Wherefores: Joshuah Bearman leads a daring investigation into the enigmatic Great Gerbil (Rhombomys Opimus) of central Asia...


  • Now more than ever, Americans are troubled by questions. As sweaty modernity thrusts itself upon us, the veil of ignorance that cloaked our nation hangs in tatters, tattered tatters. Our "funny bones" are neither fun nor bony. Glum is the new giddy...


  • Issue 12 is made up of three parts. The first and largest section consists entirely of new writers -- new to us, probably new to you, and not even well-known by their own families.Part two is a new story from Roddy Doyle, featuring Jimmy Rabbitte of ...


  • In his first novel, Dave Eggers has written a moving and hilarious tale of two friends who fly around the world trying to give away a lot of money and free themselves from a profound loss. It reminds us once again what an important, necessary talent ...


  • in Speaking With the Angel
    • / General Fiction
    • Buy Buy

    12 completely new stories, written by 12 of the most celebrated voices in fiction today; clever, outrageous, witty, edgy, tender, wicked... this is what they meant by "original." Bestselling author Nick Hornby has brought together a star-studded g...