Author Information
Dale Furutani's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    7 Books (2 Series)
  • First Book:
    October 1996
  • Latest Book:
    April 2021
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:

Full Series List in Order

A Ken Tanaka Mystery

1 - Death in Little Tokyo (Oct-1996)
2 - The Toyotomi Blades (Oct-1997)

Matsuyama Kaze

1 - Death at the Crossroads (Jul-1998)
2 - Jade Palace Vendetta (Jul-1999)
3 - Kill the Shogun (Sep-2000)

Book List in Order: 7 titles

  • A lively game of murder turns deadly... It's Ken Tanaka's turn to stage a mock mystery for the Los Angeles Mystery Club and he's determined to do it right. Tanaka sets himself up as a fake P.I., office and all, only to have a femme fatale straight...

  • AN ANCIENT SWORD CUTS TO THE HEART OF A BAFFLING MYSTERY Unemployed computer operator and amateur sleuth Ken Tanaka is thrilled at the chance to visit his ancestors' homeland, especially when it's courtesy of a Tokyo talk show that wants to interv...

  • A Japanese errant, ronin-turned-sleuth Matsuyama Kaze must journey across Japan in search of his ruler's missing young daughter, but his quest is interrupted by his discovery by the corpse of a murder victim and a colorful, untrustworthy cast of susp...

  • In the second installment in the series, noble ronin Matsuyama Kaze continues the search for his lord's missing child, but when he saves a helpless merchant from a gang of killers, he realizes that everything is not what it seems....

  • In Kill the Shogun, award winning mystery writer Dale Furutani presents the latest in his popular samurai mystery series. He returns to the journey of Matsuyama Kaze, the masterless warrior destined to travel the seventeenth-century Japanese countrys...

  • Sherlock Holmes fans know about the "missing years" - the time when Holmes traveled in Asia after his epic battle with Professor Moriarity. Now, thanks to recently discovered notebooks, some of the Great Detective's most challenging cases can be reve...

  • The Ronin Returns picks up the epic story of Matsuyama Kaze in 1603 Japan. This extension of Dale Furutani's critically acclaimed, best-selling Samurai Mystery Trilogy provides all the adventure, action, and mystery of the original books in the serie...

Award-Winning Books by Dale Furutani

Death in Little Tokyo
1997 Anthony Award -- First Novel
1997 Macavity Award -- First Mystery

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Dale Furutani has published 7 books.

Dale Furutani does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, The Ronin Returns, was published in April 2021.

The first book by Dale Furutani, Death in Little Tokyo, was published in October 1996.

Yes. Dale Furutani has 2 series.