Author Information
Christopher Paolini's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    9 Books (1 Series)
  • First Book:
    June 2002
  • Latest Book:
    November 2023
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:
About the Author

Christopher Paolini was born in Southern California and lived most of his life in Paradise Valley, Montana with his parents and younger sister, Angela. The tall, jagged Beartooth Mountains that rise on one side of Paradise Valley inspired the fantastic scenery in Eragon, the first novel in his Inheritance cycle.

Christopher was homeschooled by his parents and often wrote short stories and poems, made frequent trips to the library, and read widely. He was fifteen when he wrote the first draft of Eragon and his family self-published the book in 2001.

In August 2003, Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers published Eragon and it was an instant success, reaching a worldwide audience. Christopher's second novel Eldest was published in 2005, followed by Brisingr in 2008. To date, there are 49 foreign-language licenses for Eragon alone, and together the first three books in the series have sold 25 million copies worldwide. Inheritance, the fourth and final book in the cycle will be published on November 8, 2011 with a first printing of 2.5 million copies.

Full Series List in Order

Inheritance Cycle

1 - Eragon (Jun-2002)
2 - Eldest (Aug-2005)
3 - Brisingr (Sep-2008)
4 - Inheritance (Nov-2011)

Book List in Order: 9 titles

  • WHAT WAS ONCE YOUR LIFE IS NOW YOUR LEGEND. When Eragon finds a polished blue stone in the forest, he thinks it is the lucky discovery of a poor farm boy. But when the stone brings a dragon hatchling, Eragon soon realizes he has stumbled upon a le...

  • Darkness falls. . . . Swords clash. . . . Evil reigns. Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, have just saved the rebel state from destruction by the mighty forces of King Galbatorix, cruel ruler of the Empire. Now Eragon must travel to Ellesmera, lan...

  • Oaths sworn... loyalties tested ... forces collide. It's been only months since Eragon first uttered "brisingr," the ancient language term for fire. Since then, he's not only learned to create magic with words -- he's been challenged to his very cor...

  • From the creators of the bestselling books Dragonology, Egyptology, Piratelogy, and others, this is a never-before-seen glimpse into the world of Christopher Paolini’s Inheritance cycle. Alagaësia comes alive in a lush and detailed look at an unfo...

  • Not so very long ago, Eragon--Shadeslayer, Dragon Rider--was nothing more than a poor farm boy, and his dragon, Saphira, only a blue stone in the forest. Now the fate of an entire civilization rests on their shoulders. Long months of training and...

  • The internationally bestselling fantasy sensation is back, with brand-new stories set in the world of Eragon and the Inheritance Cycle! A wanderer and a cursed child. Spells and magic. And dragons, of course. Welcome back to the world of Alagaësi...

  • Kira Navárez dreamed of life on new worlds. Now she's awakened a nightmare. During a routine survey mission on an uncolonized planet, Kira finds an alien relic. At first she's delighted, but elation turns to terror when the ancient dus...

  • A new blockbuster science fiction adventure from world-wide phenomenon and #1 New York Times bestseller Christopher Paolini, set in the world of New York Times and USA Today bestseller To Sleep in a Sea of Stars.Instant New York Times bestseller Jul...

  • INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Master storyteller and internationally bestselling author Christopher Paolini returns to the World of Eragon in this stunning epic fantasy set a year after the events of the Inheritance Cycle. Join Dragon R...

Award-Winning Books by Christopher Paolini

2006 Quill Award -- Young Adult/Teen
2007 Buckeye Children's Book Award -- Teen
2007 Colorado Blue Spruce Award -- Young Adult
2004 Book Sense Book of the Year Award -- Children's Literature
2004 Isinglass Teen Read Award -- Grades 6-8
2005 Beehive Award -- Young Adult
2005 Colorado Blue Spruce Award -- Young Adult
2005 Colorado Children's Book Award -- Junior Novel
2005 Eliot Rosewater Indiana High School Book Award -- Grades 9-12
2005 Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Award -- Grades 6-8
2005 Rhode Island Teen Book Award -- Ages 12 & Up
2005 Sequoyah Book Award -- Young Adult
2005 South Carolina Childrens, Junior and Young Adult Book Award -- Young Adult
2005 Volunteer State Book Award -- Young Adult
2006 Evergreen Young Adult Book Award -- Young Adult
2006 Florida Teens Read -- Grades 9-12
2006 Golden Archer Award -- Middle/Junior High
2006 Grand Canyon Reader Award -- Teen
2006 Nene Award -- Children's Fiction
2006 Rebecca Caudill Young Readers Book Award -- Grades 4-8
2006 Virginia Readers Choice Award -- Middle School
2006 Young Reader's Choice Award -- Intermediate/Grades 7-9
2007 Buckeye Children's Book Award -- Grades 6-8
2008 Iowa Teen Award -- Young Adult
To Sleep in a Sea of Stars
2020 Goodreads Choice Award -- Science Fiction

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Christopher Paolini has published 9 books.

Christopher Paolini does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, Murtagh, was published in November 2023.

The first book by Christopher Paolini, Eragon, was published in June 2002.

Yes. Christopher Paolini has 1 series.