Pia Christina Tapper was born in England, UK, daugther of Kenneth Tapper, an English, and a Swedish mother. She brought up in Sweden, until at sixteen her family moved to Japan, because her father had obtained a job in Tokyo. Married with Richard Fenton, had two children, she lives between London and Herefordshire. She is a member of the Society of Genealogists and the Guild of One Name Studies. When she's not writing, she spends her time tracking down elusive ancestors for her family tree, and her other hobbies include archaeology (the armchair variety), listening to loud rock music and collecting things.

She signs her novels as Christina Courtenay. She won the Elizabeth Goudge Trophy for a historical short story in 2001 and the Katie Fforde Bursary for a promising new writer in 2006. Her short story was published in ‘Solander’, the magazine of the Historical Novel Society. In 2011, her first published novel Trade Winds was short listed for the RNA's Award for Best Historical Fiction. Her second novel, The Scarlet Kimono, won the Big Red Reads Best Historical Fiction Award. In 2012 Highland Storms won the Best Historical Romantic Novel of the year award and her fourth novel, The Silent Touch of Shadows, won the Best Historical Read Award from the Festival of Romance. Pia Fenton is a committee member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association, and she was elected its twenty-sixth chairman (2013–2015).

Book List in Order: 17 titles

  • 'Wonderfully written and a real page turner. Christina tells a story equally as well as Barbara Erskine' 5* reader reviewThe stunning and evocative new timeslip novel from the bestselling author of Echoes of the Runes is available to preorder now!Bri...


  • Brimming with romance, adventure and vivid historical detail, Christina Courtenay does for the Vikings what Diana Gabaldon's Outlander and Clanlans does for Scottish history. The bestselling author of Echoes of the Runes spins a thrilling and epic ne...


  • 'A superb timeslip novel that stands shoulder to shoulder with some of Barbara Erskine and Diana Gabaldon's finest works' 5* reader reviewBrimming with romance, adventure and vivid historical detail, Christina Courtenay does for the Vikings what Dian...


  • The pacy, evocative and romantic new dual-time novel from Christina Courtenay is perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine, Diana Gabaldon and Vikings.Their love was forbidden. But echoed in eternity.When Mia inherits her beloved grandmother''s summer cott...


  • The award-winning author of Marry in Haste pens a Regency romance of a scheming sister and an unrequited love . . .   Delilah cannot bear to watch as her twin sister Deborah marries Hamish Baillie, fourth earl of Blackwood. Not on...


  • "As the velvet cloak of moonlight settled over the ruined towers of Raglan Castle, the shadows beneath them stirred ..." When newly widowed Tess visits Raglan Castle, she experiences an extraordinary vision that transports her to seventeen...


  • Three intrepid Highlanders pursue love and fortune across the globe in these majestic historical romances ( Elder Park Book Reviews ). Steeped in fascinating history, with plenty of chemistry and action to go around, each novel in this saga follow...


  • Nagasaki, 1648: Temperance Marston longs to escape England and explore the exotic empire of Japan. When offered the chance to accompany her cousin and Captain Noordholt on an expedition to Nagasaki, she jumps at the opportunity. On a foolhardy ventur...


  • Some dreams shouldn’t come true …Maddie Browne thought she’d grown out of the recurring nightmare that plagued her as a child, but after a shocking family secret is revealed, it comes back to haunt her – the same swing in the same garden, the...






  • It’s 1759 and Jamie Kinross has travelled far to escape his troubled past – from the pine forests of Sweden to the bustling streets of India. In India he becomes a gem trader, but when his mentor’s family are kidnapped as part of a criminal plo...


  • Kayla Sinclair knows she’s in big trouble when she almost bankrupts herself to buy a life-size portrait of a mysterious eighteenth century man at an auction. Jago Kerswell, inn-keeper and smuggler, knows there is danger in those stolen moments w...


  • When Rain Mackenzie is expelled from her British boarding school, she can’t believe her bad luck. Not only is she forced to move to New England, USA, she’s also sent to the local high school, as a punishment. Rain makes it her mission to dislike ...


  • ** 2014 Historical Novel of the Year from the Romantic Novelists Association!! **It’s 1641, and when Midori Kumashiro, the orphaned daughter of a warlord, is told she has to leave Japan or die, she has no choice but to flee to England. Midori is tr...


  • Professional genealogist Melissa Grantham receives an invitation to visit her family's ancestral home, Ashleigh Manor. From the moment she arrives, life-like dreams and visions haunt her. The spiritual connection to a medieval young woman and her for...


  • Who can you trust?Betrayed by his brother and his childhood love, Brice Kinross needs a fresh start. So he welcomes the opportunity to leave Sweden for the Scottish Highlands to take over the family estate.But there’s trouble afoot at Rosyth in 175...


  • Abducted by a Samurai warlord in 17th century Japan – what happens when fear turns to love?England, 1611, and young Hannah Marston envies her brother’s adventurous life. But when she stows away on his merchant ship, her powers of endurance a...


  • Marriage of convenience – or a love for life?It’s 1732 in Gothenburg, Sweden, and strong-willed Jess van Sandt knows only too well that it’s a man’s world. She believes she’s being swindled out of her inheritance by her stepfather – and ...