Book List in Order:12 titles

  • In this exciting new story from The Adventures of Emery Jones, Boy Science Wonder series, Gabby Sykes & Emery Jones begin their freshman year in high school as heroes, having just saved the world from killer alien robots... but as all too often happe...


  • From National Book Award winner Charles Johnson, “the celebrated novelist, short story writer, screenwriter, and essayist…comes a small treasure, one to be read and considered and reread” (The New York Times Book Review), showcasin...


  • A masterful story collection -- thirteen years in the making -- from National Book Award winner Charles Johnson, showcasing the incredible range and resonant voice of this American treasure. This new collection of stories from National Book Award ...


  • Whether you believe that man evolved from the apes (Darwinism) or that man was created in God's own image (religion), man has questioned the whats and whys of his surroundings. Why does the sun rise and set? Why does it rain? Why do dinosaurs eat us?...



  • Charles Johnson's innovative and richly imagined collection is full of stories -- sly, witty, and insightful -- that bring the world into focus. Each is a vivid cultural and philosophical portrait that deftly explores issues of identity and race. "Kw...


  • One night in the antebellum South, a slave owner and his African-American butler stay up to all hours until, too drunk to face their wives, they switch places in each other's beds. The result is a hilarious imbroglio and an offspring -- Andrew Hawkin...


  • Twelve stories about the African experience of slavery in America, by the National Book Award-winning novelist.Nothing has had as profound an effect on American life as slavery. For blacks and whites alike, the experience has left us with a conflicte...


  • Faith Cross, a beautiful and purely innocent young black woman, is told by her dying mother to go and get herself "a good thing." Thus begins an extraordinary pilgrim's progress that takes Faith from the magic and mysticism of the rural South to the ...






  • From the National Book Award-winning author of Middle Passage, a fearless fictional portrait of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and his pivotal moment in American history.Set against the tensions of Civil Rights era America, Dreamer is a remarkable fictio...


  • A twenty-fifth anniversary edition of Charles Johnson’s National Book Award-winning masterpiece—"a novel in the tradition of Billy Budd and Moby-Dick…heroic in proportion…fiction that hooks the mind" (The New York Times Book Review)—now wit...