Author Information
Charles Fergus's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    4 Books
  • First Book:
    September 1991
  • Latest Book:
    February 2023
  • Rating:

Book List in Order: 4 titles


  • As a government-backed expedition makes its way west--sent to America's Indian reservations to extol the virtues of U.S. citizenship--photographs of the poor conditions on the reservations, the work of someone in the expedition, make their way into D...



  • Set in 1835 in the Pennsylvania town of Adamant, Fergus’s first novel in a new mystery series introduces Sheriff Gideon Stoltz, who, as a young deputy, is thrust into his position by the death of the previous sheriff. Gideon faces his first real ch...



  • ** "Set in 1836, Fergus’s superior sequel . . . brings the period to life as he expertly melds setting and plot."  Starred Publishers Weekly **For Fans of Madeline Miller and Geraldine Brooks, and Historical Mysteries Invol...



  • "Strong, well-drawn characters, rich attention to natural detail, and a haunting narrative make this a series to get excited about.” – Paul Doiron, author of the Mike Bowditch Mystery SeriesLay This Body Down, the third Gideon Stoltz Mystery, tak...




Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Charles Fergus has published 4 books.

The next book by Charles Fergus, Lay This Body Down, will be published in February 2023.

The first book by Charles Fergus, Shadow Catcher, was published in September 1991.

No. Charles Fergus does not write books in series.