Book List in Order: 38 titles

  • One morning Rafe wakes up to discover his bedroom is floating in a vast sea of water, this is an unforgettable middle-grade novel with elements of James and the Giant Peach meets Waterworld and The Road.Alone with only his dog for company in his room...


  • Bear wants to sing his song, but the other animals won't give him a chance to perform his masterwork in this delightful picture book companion to the critically acclaimed King Mouse.A bear finds a ukulele in the woods. It makes a nice sound — PL...


  • This is the story of one refugee family’s harrowing journey, based on author Cary Fagan’s own family history. The graphic novel follows a young Jewish boy, Maurice, and his family as they flee their home in Belgium during the Second Wor...


  • The boy in this story never wants to go to his friends’ birthday parties, because Happy the Clown is always there. And Happy is … his dad.He wishes his dad had a regular job, like all the other kids’ parents. He didn’t mind his dad being a cl...


  • School's out, and Marky looks forward to summer, including helping his friend and neighbor, Mr. Tempkin, with his garden. But when Mr. Tempkin's plan to thwart the squirrels that have been raiding his birdfeeder goes awry, Marky learns how special a ...


  • Who is Gretchen Oyster? The discovery of a series of mysterious handmade postcards distracts Hartley from trouble at home. A poignant novel for fans of Rebecca Stead and Holly Goldberg Sloan.Hartley Staples, near-graduate of middle school, is grappli...


  • King Mouse finds his authority in question when his subjects find crowns of their own. A gentle and humorous modern fable about imaginative play and kindness in the tradition of classics like Little Bear and Frog and Toad.A sweet, thoughtful tale of ...


  • From New York Times-bestselling illustrator Kady MacDonald Denton and award-winning author Cary Fagan comes a charming sibling story that has the makings of a contemporary classic.Benny's little brother is really good at a lot of things -- making pot...


  • When a circus train derails in 1925, a lion escapes and finds shelter in a four-hundred-acre park in the middle of a big city. No one knows about the creature except for Sadie Menken, the feisty daughter of a pie-maker. As various squirrels, dogs an...






  • A classic story of imagination, friendship, rock bands and high-speed helicopter chases. For fans of Ivy & Bean, Judy Moody or Nate the Great.Everyone's favorite odd couple is back. Our heroine, Renata Wolfman (Wolfie) does everything by herself. Fri...


  • These thirty-five brief stories ― and the found photographs that inspired them ― are by turns realistic and surreal, bloody and tender, delightful and appalling. Award-winning author Cary Fagan has created a mesmerizing series of narrative tales,...


  • A humorous coming-of-age middle-grade novel set in 1960s Florida. Battling obxious siblings, sunburns, and a corporate millionaire, Norman is determined to help an old comedian save his career. It's the winter of 1965. Norman Fishbein is endur...


  • Is there someone out there for everyone? Two lonely souls find each other in this unusual tale of friendship and belonging from award-winning comic writer Cary Fagan. In her North American debut, illustrator Banafsheh Erfanian brings ornate artistry ...


  • A sweet, whimsical tale that chronicles the journey of a chair as it changes hands and uses. Perfect for fans of The Good Little Book, Something for Nothing and Virginia Lee Burton's The Little House.Boo's favorite chair is little and blue. He si...


  • A classic story of imagination, friendship, adventure and speeding through the ocean in a cardboard box. For fans of Ivy & Bean, Judy Moody or Nate the Great.      Wolfie and Fly is an early chapter book at its simplest and best. Our heroin...


  • The stories in History Lessons, Cary Fagan's first collection of fiction, reveal the dreams and deceptions that people live by. These works have a vivid sense of place and detail as they trace the inner lives of characters. Among them: an...


  • When Morris the fishmonger and Minnie the hat seller fall in love, Morris comes up with a wedding plan designed to deliver the very best for his beloved bride-to-be . . . with unexpected consequences. In Kensington Market Morris sells all kinds of fi...


  • The narrator of I Wish I Could Draw shares a name with creator Cary Fagan and has the same curly hair and glasses. Perhaps most interesting of all, though, the narrator believes he has no artistic talent — just like the Cary Fagan, who not only wrot...


  • Danny’s parents have always been a bit flaky, but this time they have gone too far! Their latest plan to follow their dreams means Danny and his older brother will spend six months in Banff (wherever that is) and six months in New York City. Furiou...






  • Every Sunday Aunt Essy, Aunt Chanah, and Uncle Sam drive up in the old Lincoln for the afternoon. They plop themselves down in the living room, and no matter what anyone says their response is always the same — “Oy,” “Feh,” “So?” One aftern...


  • Sheila Hersh is spending her early thirties leading a double life. She hangs out at the cool Firenze Bar at night, has a closetful of black clothes, and is even the reluctant star of an underground film. By day she writes ad copy for her father's...


  • “If you always feel fully and completely happy, my friends, then you do not need my drops and I will not sell them to you for any amount of money.” -- Master Melville Eleven-year-old juggling enthusiast Sullivan Mintz helps his family run th...


  • This critically-acclaimed picture book by award-winning author Cary Fagan is about stories and story-telling, and is sure to entertain children at home and at school for years to come.This is the story of a bored little boy, who meets a man, and toge...


  • When Ella May finds a smooth stone with a line going all-all-all the way around it, she is convinced it has magical powers. Surely such a stone will grant wishes, she thinks. But when her friends want to join in the fun, Ella May says that the stone ...


  • Jeremiah Birnbaum is stinking rich. He lives in a house with nine bathrooms, a games room, an exercise room, an indoor pool, a hot tub, a movie theater, a bowling alley and a tennis court. His parents, a former hotdog vendor and window cleaner who ma...


  • In this episodic tale that’s rich with Cary Fagan’s characteristically dry humor, a boy tells the story of his life with two older brothers. When he is only a week old, his brothers argue over who can hold him first and drop him onto the porch. B...


  • When his parents send him to summer camp for the first time, Ethan has just three goals. First, to survive. Second, not to be hated. Third, not to be the worst at anything. Instead, Ethan's real challenge comes in the form of a new cabin mate. Zachar...


  • He’s back! The late Mordecai Richler had planned more adventures for his small hero and now, with the full support of the Richler family, award-winning author Cary Fagan carries on the tradition in a hilarious story for a whole new generation of Ja...


  • Until things begin to go wrong, thirteen-year-old Eleanor Blande had hoped that this would be her best year ever. First her father finds himself without work. Then Levon du Plessy-Minsk, the Creature Catcher, threatens to expose Eleanor’s secret to...






  • Thing-Thing was neither a Teddy bear nor a rabbit; not a stuffed dog or cat. It was something like each of those, and nothing at all you could name. But it had something special. It had the hope that one day it would find a child to love it and talk ...


  • Young Randolph has two favorite pastimes — hockey and collecting. He collects both the ordinary (beer bottle caps) and the esoteric (new words). After his father loses his job, Randolph is horrified to learn the family must take in Mr. Karp, a board...


  • Receiving the yearly birthday gift from his grandmother has become David’s living nightmare. The “surprise” she always has for him never varies. How can he stop this never-ending flow of stiff, white, scratchy shirts — “perfect gentlemen”...


  • The synagogue was once a busy, bustling place, but now only ten old men come to tend it and pray each day. Then one day, a little scritch-scratch betrays the first new member in years: a tiny mouse who has taken up residence among the holy books. Of ...


  • Fresh from their victory over the nasty Kaspar Snit, — who was last seen trying to steal the fountains of Rome in The Fortress of Kaspar Snit — the Blande family have certainly earned a rest. They’re not actually an average family (what average...


  • Chosen for inclusion in the reading list for the 2006 Manitoba Young Readers' Choice AwardKaspar Snit is a villainous villain who is determined to steal all the fountains in the world. Why? Fountains are beautiful and give people pleasure, two things...


  • `Cary Fagan's new novel is intense, lyrical, and emotionally charged. Leon Stone is a man blessed with good fortune -- a wife he continues to feel passion for, a young daughter, a safe neighbourhood. But his fear that it will all be taken away from h...


  • Sheila Hersh is spending her early thirties leading a double life. She hangs out at the cool Firenze Bar at night, has a closetful of black clothes, and is even the reluctant star of an underground film. By day she writes ad copy for her father's sto...