We Went to the Woods
  • Published:
    Jul-2019 (Hardcover)
  • Formats:
    Print / eBook / Audio
  • Rating:
  • Pages:
    352
  • Purchase:


GENRE

TIME PERIOD

  • Contemporary

Click on any of the links above to see more books like this one.

They went off the grid. Their secrets didn't. For readers of The Secret History and The Immortalists comes a novel about the allure -- and dangers -- of disconnecting.

Certain that society is on the verge of economic and environmental collapse, five disillusioned twenty-somethings make a bold decision: They gather in upstate New York to transform an abandoned farm, once the site of a turn-of-the-century socialist commune, into an idyllic self-sustaining compound called the Homestead.

Louisa spearheads the project, as her wealthy family owns the plot of land. Beau is the second to commit; as mysterious and sexy as he is charismatic, he torments Louisa with his nightly disappearances and his other relationships. Chloe, a dreamy musician, is naturally able to attract anyone to her -- which inevitably results in conflict. Jack, the most sensible and cerebral of the group, is the only one with any practical farm experience. Mack, the last to join, believes it's her calling to write their story -- but she is not the most objective narrator, and inevitably complicates their increasingly tangled narrative. Initially exhilarated by restoring the rustic dwellings, planting a garden, and learning the secrets of fermentation, the group is soon divided by slights, intense romantic and sexual relationships, jealousies, and suspicions. And as winter settles in, their experiment begins to feel not only misguided, but deeply isolating and dangerous.

Caite Dolan-Leach spins a poignant and deeply human tale with sharp insights into our modern anxieties, our collective failures, and the timeless desire to withdraw from the world.
Sign In to Review This Book




 

The Complete Caite Dolan-Leach Book List