Author Information
Alan Bradley's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    12 Books (1 Series)
  • First Book:
    February 2009
  • Latest Book:
    September 2024
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:

Full Series List in Order

A Flavia de Luce Mystery

1 - The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie (Feb-2009)
2 - The Weed That Strings the Hangman's Bag (Mar-2010)
3 - A Red Herring Without Mustard (Feb-2011)
4 - I Am Half-sick of Shadows (Nov-2011)
5 - Speaking From Among the Bones (Feb-2013)
6 - The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches (Jan-2014)
6.5 - The Curious Case of the Copper Corpse (Dec-2014)
7 - As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust (Jan-2015)
8 - Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew'd (Sep-2016)
9 - The Grave's a Fine and Private Place (Jan-2018)
10 - The Golden Tresses of the Dead (Jan-2019)

Book List in Order: 12 titles

  • It is the summer of 1950 -- and at the once-grand mansion of Buckshaw, young Flavia de Luce, an aspiring chemist with a passion for poison, is intrigued by a series of inexplicable events: A dead bird is found on the doorstep, a postage stamp bizarre...

  • From Dagger Award-winning and internationally bestselling author Alan Bradley comes this utterly beguiling mystery starring one of fiction's most remarkable sleuths: Flavia de Luce, a dangerously brilliant eleven-year-old with a passion for chemistry...

  • Award-winning author Alan Bradley returns with another beguiling novel starring the insidiously clever and unflappable eleven-year-old sleuth Flavia de Luce. The precocious chemist with a passion for poisons uncovers a fresh slew of misdeeds in the h...

  • It's Christmastime, and the precocious Flavia de Luce -- an eleven-year-old sleuth with a passion for chemistry and a penchant for crime-solving -- is tucked away in her laboratory, whipping up a concoction to ensnare Saint Nick. But she is soon dist...

  • Eleven-year-old amateur detective and ardent chemist Flavia de Luce is used to digging up clues, whether they’re found among the potions in her laboratory or between the pages of her insufferable sisters’ diaries. What she is not accustomed to is...

  • On a spring morning in 1951, eleven-year-old chemist and aspiring detective Flavia de Luce gathers with her family at the railway station, awaiting the return of her long-lost mother, Harriet. Yet upon the train’s arrival in the English village of ...

  • Fans of Flavia de Luce rejoice -- here’s a special eBook original short story, in which the eleven-year-old connoisseur of chemistry is immersed in her element: solving a mystery!   Murder! the letter says, Come at once. Anson House, Greymins...

  • Banished! is how twelve-year-old Flavia de Luce laments her predicament, when her father and Aunt Felicity ship her off to Miss Bodycote’s Female Academy, the boarding school that her mother, Harriet, once attended across the sea in Canada. The sun...

  • Hailed as “a combination of Eloise and Sherlock Holmes” by The Boston Globe, Flavia de Luce returns in a much anticipated new Christmas mystery from award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Alan Bradley. In spite of being ejected fr...

  • In the wake of an unthinkable family tragedy, twelve-year-old Flavia de Luce is struggling to fill her empty days. For a needed escape, Dogger, the loyal family servant, suggests a boating trip for Flavia and her two older sisters. As their punt drif...

  • A finger in a wedding cake is only the beginning in this deliciously shocking mystery featuring Flavia de Luce. Although it is autumn in the small English town of Bishop’s Lacey, the chapel is decked with exotic flowers. Yes, Flavia de Luce’s ...

  • Amateur sleuth Flavia de Luce, along with her pestilent younger cousin, investigates the murder of a former public hangman and uncovers a secret that brings the greatest shock of her life.Flavia de Luce has taken on the mentorship of her odious moon-...

Award-Winning Books by Alan Bradley

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie
2009 Agatha Award -- First Novel
2010 Dilys Award -- Mystery Novel
2010 Macavity Award -- First Mystery

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Alan Bradley has published 12 books.

The next book by Alan Bradley, What Time the Sexton's Spade Doth Rust, will be published in September 2024.

The first book by Alan Bradley, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, was published in February 2009.

Yes. Alan Bradley has 1 series.