Barbara Michaels

Barbara Mertz was born and brought up in Illinois and earned her Ph.D. in Egyptology from the University of Chicago's famed Oriental Institute. She wrote two books on Egyptian history before turning to mysteries.

In 1968 she began writing light mysteries using both the name Elizabeth Peters and Barbars Michaels. In 1975 as Peters she began a series in which she could use her Ph.D. more extensively: the Amelia Peabody historical mysteries about archaeologists set mostly in Egypt. So far, there are 19.

Peters was named Grand Master at the inaugural Anthony Awards in 1986, Grandmaster by the Mystery Writers of America at the Edgar Awards in 1998, and given The Lifetime Achievement Award at Malice Domestic in 2003. She lives in an historic farmhouse in western Maryland.

Romantic SuspenseJan-1968 Buy
Romantic SuspenseNov-1985 Buy
Romantic SuspenseJan-1991 Buy
Romantic Suspense1971 Buy
Romantic SuspenseMar-1997 Buy
Romantic Suspense1970 Buy
Romantic Suspense1984 Buy
Romantic SuspenseOct-1972 Buy
Romantic SuspenseSep-1983 Buy
Romantic SuspenseNov-1974 Buy
Romantic SuspenseOct-1993 Buy
Romantic SuspenseMay-1990 Buy
Romantic Suspense1966 Buy
Romantic SuspenseOct-1968 Buy
Romantic SuspenseMar-1999 Buy
Historical MysteryOct-1976 Buy
Romantic Suspense1969 Buy
General FictionAug-1992 Buy
Romantic SuspenseNov-1975 Buy
Romantic SuspenseOct-1987 Buy
Romantic SuspenseOct-1986 Buy
Romantic SuspenseJan-1989 Buy
Romantic SuspenseJun-1982 Buy
Romantic Suspense1967 Buy
Paranormal RomanceMay-1995 Buy
Romantic SuspenseAug-1992 Buy
Romantic Suspense1978 Buy
Romantic SuspenseOct-1979 Buy
Historical MysteryOct-1977 Buy
Romantic SuspenseOct-1973 Buy
Romantic SuspenseOct-1980 Buy
get social with us


author series